Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain

Dark and Shallow Lies book cover

Information

Goodreads: Dark and Shallow Lies
Series: None
Published: August 31, 2021

Official Summary

A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power.

La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide.

This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World–and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend, disappeared six months earlier.

Grey can’t believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something – her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou – a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town’s bloody history – Grey realizes that La Cachette’s past is far more present and dangerous than she’d ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent–and La Cachette’s dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

Star Divider

Review

Dark and Shallow Lies is a riveting thriller that brings readers to the heart of bayou, where secrets abound even though half the residents of La Cachette are psychic. Ginny Myers Sain brings her setting and her story alive with a strong voice and a twisty plot that will have readers second guessing everything.

While I was initially uncertain about the psychic angle of the book and how it would tie in with the dark and gritty problems of a dead girl and her friend who deeply wants answers, everything ultimately comes together. The psychic powers seem real, but the holders aren’t omniscient, and protagonist Grey starts to wonder how often they’re a blessing and how often they’re a curse. There’s also tons of space for Grey to get in some real world investigation, talking to people want happened, exploring the area, etc. as she tries to figure how her best friend died.

The investigation itself is absorbing, as readers go along with Grey to find and sort through any available clues. It’s also refreshingly realistic. I felt as if the steps Grey takes to find her answers were ones a teenager could reasonably take. She isn’t some sort of teen Sherlock Holmes with a uniquely impressive mind, and she doesn’t do anything too wild that should probably get her killed herself or at least grounded for the next decade. She does what she can, relying on her tenacity and her deep love for her friend to guide her.

Full of heart, voice, and dark secrets, Dark and Shallow Lies engrossed me from the first page. And even though it’s a thriller, and I now know how it ends, I think it’s good enough to bear up to multiple reads.

Briana
4 stars