If You Like Six of Crows, Then Read…

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

gilded wolves

It’s 1889 in Paris and hotelier Séverin Montagnet-Alarie has been offered the opportunity of a lifetime: in exchange for helping the Order of Babel, he will receive his true inheritance.  To find the treasure the order seeks, Séverin assembles an extraordinary team.  But what they find could change history.  Read Briana’s review.

smaller star divider

The Poison Throne by Celine Kiernan

The Poison Throne

Fifteen-year-old Wynter Moorehawke has returned to the palace where she grew up like a sister to the two princes, the bastard son Razi and his younger brother, the heir Alberon. But things have changed. The cats no longer talk, the ghosts are not friends, Alberon is missing, and the king is torturing subjects. The king desires Razi to take the throne, but Razi knows his brother must be the one to rule. Now Wynter must choose: her king or the true heir.  A compelling adult fantasy whose morally-dubious characters somehow manage to still be sympathetic. Read Krysta’s review.

smaller star divider

The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson

Shai is a Forger–one of the best. But the arbiters who rule the empire believer her art is nothing more than a trick, or, at the worst, a heresy. But now, as the result of an assassination attempt, the emperor sleeps in a coma and when he wakes, an enemy faction will no doubt declare him unfit to rule. So the arbiters need Shai. They need her to do the impossible. They need her to refashion a soul for the emperor.  A fantasy novella that features a complex protagonist and a carefully detailed world.  Read Briana’s review.

smaller star divider

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

As the youngest daughter, Siri has always been considered unimportant. But then her father sends her to marry the dreaded king of Hallandren in her sister Vivenna’s place. With a neglected education, Siri has no clue how to act in her new role as the wife of a god-king who could kill her at any moment. Feeling useless herself, Vivenna sets out to rescue Siri. But both princesses are about to find themselves embroiled in political conspiracies that may prove to be too much for them to handle.  A rich fantasy featuring court intrigue, a simmering rebellion, and morally complex characters.  Read Krysta’s review.

smaller star divider

Ship of Smoke and Steel by Django Wexler

Ship of Smoke and Steel Review

When the emperor discovers that eighteen-year-old ward boss Isoka can access the Well of Combat, he gives her an impossible mission: steal the ghost ship Solitan.  Isoka’s sister’s life is forfeit if she fails.  But she beings to realize that Solitan may be harboring secrets.  Read Briana’s review.

20 thoughts on “If You Like Six of Crows, Then Read…

  1. Margaret @ Weird Zeal says:

    Oooh these all look like such great books! The only one of these I’ve read is The Gilded Wolves – which DEFINITELY gave me SoC vibes – but I’ll need to check out these others! Brandon Sanderson is always a win so Warbreaker sounds amazing 😄

    Like

  2. Annemieke says:

    Great list. I really want to read The Gilded Wolves and Ship of Smoke and Steel but I am not allowed to buy more books at the moment #crying I am so curious how I’d like Ship of Smoke and Steel, especially after you guys reviewed it on here.

    Like

  3. dinasoaur says:

    Oh, I love this post so much. I am fond of how you have diversified the list to feature underrated books or books that don’t get enough discussions. I am going to scribble down The Poison Throne’s title in my wish list notebook. It looks fascinating. I am deep in Sanderson’s original Mistborn trilogy (well…I only have one more book to go! And then I am off into the next step in Cosmere). I am glad to see Gilded Wolves on here because I am hearing mixed reviews. I still haven’t read anything by Roshne Chokshi but I have her Young Adult books on my shelves. I just need to take the plunge and see whether or not her work is a good fit for me.
    Odd question for you: do you have any book recommendations for character-banter? I think this was one of the strengths of Six of Crows.

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.