If You Like Harry Potter, Then Read… (Part Two)

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger

Twelve-year-old Sophie Foster’s life changes forever the day a boy appears and reveals that she’s an elf and that she can learn to control her Telepathetic abilities if she leaves her world behind to train at a magical academy. But even as Sophie delights in the wonders of her new world, she worries about her past. Why was she sent to live with humans? Why is she capable of things no other elf can do? And why does she seem to remember things she’s never learned at all?

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson

Rithmatist Brandon Sanderson review

In Joel’s world, students train as Rithmatists–people who can make chalk drawings come alive to fight the wild chalklings that threaten their society. Joel would do anything to be a Rithmatist himself, but because he was not chosen during the initiation ceremony, he spends his days studying Rithmatic theory and old Rithmatist duels. Then Rithmatist students begin disappearing and Joel finds himself assisting the professor determined to find the perpetrator. But with no Rithmatic powers himself, how can Joel hope to win a fight drawn in 2D?

Dragon’s Green by Scarlett Thomas

Effie Truelove is not sure magic really exists until her grandfather ends up in the hospital. Then, suddenly, he is bequeathing his library to her as well as an assortment of magical objects. But her father sells the books to a man Effie is not sure she can trust. And thus she finds herself on an adventure to reclaim her inheritance and the truth about her birthright.

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Nevermoor The Trials of Morrigan Crow

All her life Morrigan Crow has believed herself cursed and destined to die on her eleventh birthday.  But then a man called Jupiter North appears and runs away with her to a magical citiy known as Nevermoor.  There she is selected to compete for a spot in the Wundrous Society.  But failure means death.

100 Cupboards by N. D. Wilson

Sent to live with his aunt and uncle in Kansas, Henry York is surprised to find that the cupboards in his attic bedroom seem to lead to different worlds!  But when he and his cousin unleash an ancient evil, they must find a way to fix their mistakes before it is too late.

You can find our first list of suggestions here.

18 thoughts on “If You Like Harry Potter, Then Read… (Part Two)

  1. shelfishforbooks says:

    100 cupboards and the KOTLC series were the Harry potters of my childhood! I didn’t actually get into Harry Potter until early high school. Great post! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Artsyteen777 says:

    I read 100 cupboards and as a 7th grader I was very confused by it and I remember it being quite strange… I would probably enjoy as a movie more. Rather than Harry Potter which is a better book 📖

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krysta says:

      I think N. D. Wilson’s books do tend to have a lot of background knowledge/worldbuilding that seems to overwhelm people, but I’ve always loved his work. He’s one of my favorite MG authors. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Krysta says:

      That’s so cool! I hope all the participants had fun! I particularly recommend Nevermoor and Keeper of the Lost Cities. Nevermoor is really, really funny and has incredible worldbuilding. Keeper is also funny (sometimes not intentionally) and I think that’s why I enjoy it so much. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Annemieke says:

    Great list! Dragon’s Green is a great alternative to harry potter. And I have Nevermoor to read. Very curious about that. I also own The Rithmatist though this is the first I’ve heard that it gets compared to Harry Potter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krysta says:

      I read The Magicians and was disappointed. It doesn’t have the whimsy and magic of Harry Potter, but tries to be gritty and appeal to adults with sex, which isn’t my thing. :/

      Like

        • Krysta says:

          I think people recommend it because the book features a magic college and they figure children who age up will want to read that. But I read Harry Potter because I feel like Harry when he first sees the Wizarding World–enchanted and amazed. Not because he’s the same age as I am. The Magicians feels to me like one of those Disney stars who decides to prove they’re grown up by taking their clothes off. You’re left wondering what on earth happened to whatever show/music they used to do that you liked. Certainly some people are into the new look, but fans of the old one probably will find something else.

          But it was a pretty popular book back in the day, so maybe I’m alone here. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Bridget says:

    Nevermoor sounds so great! I’m going to have to add it to my TBR – also I love this because I adore Harry Potter and have never even thought about reading something that would be similar??? ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.