If You Like Little Women, Then Read…

Jack and Jill by Louisa May Alcott

Bedridden after a sledding accident, friends Jack Minot and Janey (Jill) Pecq must learn how to find happiness even when it seems healing may be far away–if possible at all.  Along the way, they get up to some old-fashioned fun, creating tableaux, collecting May flowers, and more.

Eight Cousins by Louisa May Alcott

When Rose Campbell arrives on the “Aunt-hill,” she is far from well.  Her uncle Alec, however, soon takes charge and his prescriptions for exercise and outdoor activity soon have her engaging happily in the pastimes of her seven cousins–all boys.

Invincible Louisa by Cornelia Meigs

A biography of Louisa May Alcott first published in 1933, the book begins with Alcott’s birth in Germantown, PA and follows her through her life in her father’s transcendentalist community, her decision to nurse soldiers during the Civil War, and eventual publication of her children’s stories.  Winner of the Newbery Medal.

Littler Women by Laura Schaefer

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March receive a modern makeover in this retelling of Louisa May Alcott’s classic. They attend school dances, go to sleepovers, and have jobs babysitting. As they grow up, they hope to make their father, on active duty overseas as part of the National Guard, proud upon his return.

Five Little Peppers and How They Grew by Margaret Sidney

Polly, Ben, Joel, Davie, and Phronsie Pepper live with their mother, who can barely make ends meet. Still, the five continue to have good times, what with Ben and Polly conspiring to come up with clever ways to entertain the little ones or to give them a memorable Christmas. Things really start to look up, however, when Phronsie runs away and meets young Jasper King, a young rich boy who knows all too well that money cannot buy happiness and longs to join the good time at the Little Brown House.

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Modern Retelling of Little Women by Rey Terceiero and Bre Indigo

This graphic novel reimagines the March family as living in modern-day New York City.  As their father serves overseas, Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy encounter life with all the strength they can muster.  The story shines with its depiction of sisterly relationships.  It also has a pronounced emphasis on values of diversity, inclusion, and feminism.

The Cottage at Bantry Bay by Hilda Van Stockum

Though they have little money, the O’Sullivan children get up to plenty of adventures.  Michael and Brigid sell a donkey in town while twins Liam and Francie find themselves lost after following the English army.  First published in 1938.

6 thoughts on “If You Like Little Women, Then Read…

  1. Lori says:

    Wow, I feel silly for never looking into whether Louisa May Alcott ever published anything else besides Little Women! For some reason I thought she was like Harper Lee, a one-hit wonder (although, I think I’m in the small camp of people who enjoyed Go Set a Watchman).

    My TBR has grown a little thicker today. Thanks ^_^

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      She has several novels, including two sequels to Little Women, Little Men and Jo’s Boys. I think a good argument could be made, however, that Little Women is her finest work. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Krysta says:

      I didn’t think it did anything new or interesting with the story, but the author seems to think it could be a good way to draw in new readers, so, who knows. Not everyone shares my taste! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.