If You Like Percy Jackson, Then Read…

Loki’s Wolves by K. L. Armstrong

In the town of Blackwell, most inhabitants are descended from the Norse gods Thor and Loki.  Still, Matt Thorsen never expected that Ragnarok would come in his day–or that a bunch of kids would be the ones who had to stop it.

Atlantis Rising by T. A. Barron

T. A. Barron explores the roots of Atlantis’s legendary greatness in this book dedicated to celebrating the rise of the island rather than chronicling its fall.  In his version, a thief named Promi joins forces with Atlanta, a girl with natural magic, in order to decipher a prophecy that seems to indicate the end of all magic.  The gods, however, have separated themselves from mortals and no hope seems left for those who would save the land from ruin.

Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi

Dared by her classmates, twelve-year-old Aru Shah lights a cursed lamp and releases an ancient evil.  Now she has nine days to find her reincarnated siblings, collect their weapons, and defeat the Sleeper before he ends the world.

The Serpent’s Secret by Sayantani DasGupta

Kiran’s parents have always told her that she is an Indian princess.  But she never believed them until her twelfth birthday, when her parents disappear and a rakkhosh demon chases her out of her house.  Aided by two princes, Kiran flees to the magical Kingdom Beyond.  But the clock is ticking.  Can Kiran save her parents before they are eaten by demons?

Thedosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R. L. Lafevers

Eleven-year-old Theodosia Throckmorton practically lives in London’s Museum of Legends and Antiquities in which her father works as curator. Only she, however, can detect the ancient curses that linger on the artifacts her mother brings back from Egypt, and only she knows the rituals that will render the curses innocuous. Unfortunately, when her mother returns with the legendary amulet known as the Heart of Egypt, Theodosia learns that it bears a curse so extraordinary that it will cause the destruction of the entire British Empire unless returned to its resting place.

The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis

Jack has one month to live unless he can find seven loculi imbued with magical powers.  Unfortunately, the loculi are hidden in the Seven Wonders of the ancient world.

Mark of the Thief by Jennifer A. Nielsen

When Julius Caesar’s treasure is found in a mine outside Rome, the race to claim his bulla, believed to be imbued with powers from the gods, begins. Nic, a slave in the mines, is sent to retrieve it, and finds himself the unwitting recipient of new magical powers. Now wanted by every political figure in Rome, Nic will have to learn how to navigate a world of intrigue if he is to save the empire from rebellion, rescue his sister from slavery, and preserve his own life.

The Flame of Olympus by Kate O’Hearn

Emily is living in Manhattan, far from any magic, until the day Pegasus falls from the sky.  Then suddenly she finds herself allied with the goddess Diana and embroiled in a war between the gods and a warrior race.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott

Fifteen-year-old twins Sophie and Josh Newman find themselves embroiled in a centuries-long battle between alchemist Nicholas Flamel and his foe Dr. John Dee.  Flamel and his wife need a book called known as the Codex in order to continue making the elixir of life or they will both die–Dee, however, plans to use the Codex to destroy the world.  The Alchemyst is the first of six books in the series.

The Dragon’s Tooth by N. D. Wilson

Antigone and Cyrus Smith live in a dilapidated hotel with their older brother Daniel. No one ever checks in, until the night a strange man requests a specific room. By morning, the man has died, the hotel has burned to the ground, and Daniel has disappeared. Informed that the only way to save their brother is to join a mysterious order of explorers, Antigone and Cyrus find themselves racing against time to find the order and swear their loyalty.

24 thoughts on “If You Like Percy Jackson, Then Read…

  1. hannah @ peanutbutter&books says:

    ahhh Loki’s Wolves actually sounds so interesting? i’ve never read a book based on Norse mythology (I’ve only followed the Marvel franchise oops) so I’m super fascinated to try that out. tbh though I would be lying if I said my motivation to read about Norse mythology wasn’t 99% inspired by the Thor movies :”)
    (I mean, can you blame me though… Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston. 😍)

    Like

  2. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    This sounds like a wonderful collection of books! I have a copy of Loki’s Wolves</em. on my shelf I borrowed from some friends last year (Oops!); thanks for the reminder.

    Are all these books series? Or are some stand alone novels?

    Like

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

        Right?! Series are so in. It makes me sad– particularly with middle grade level books. We need more stand alones so kids can finish a book and feel accomplished! I have a few friends with kids who are struggling to get into reading. I try to only suggest stand-alone novels if I know they struggle to connect. Perhaps that’s a mistake?

        Like

        • Krysta says:

          I guess it’s hard to say what a person will connect with. A lot of people became readers through Harry Potter and Twilight. Maybe in those cases the series were helpful since the person could keep reading something that had finally connected with them? On the other hand, I think you’re right that a standalone (or maybe just a shorter book in general) could be less intimidating to a reader.

          I guess the question is also whether anyone feels a need to read an entire series. Perhaps because we are avid readers, it’s easy to assume that, yes, I’m going to keep going with this world and these characters! I need to know what happens, even if I’m not particularly feeling the series yet! Maybe someone who doesn’t like reading would be willing to try book one of a series because they’re not planning to commit to the entire series anyway…? They don’t care if they never know what happens in Harry’s second year?

          Liked by 1 person

          • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

            Indeed, series can be also the gateway to becoming avid readers. I find that my cousins/nieces/nephews are intimidated by the idea of a series. They don’t want to commit to X number of books before they really resolve the story line. But, perhaps a good addicting MG series is a gateway drug… Percy Jackson, anyone? 😉

            I have the entire Harry Potter at my desk at work. Whenever I have a new team member, I tell them their onboarding includes reading the first three books, if they haven’t read the series before and they are readers. Adults don’t seem to connect with this series until after starting book three, I find.

            Like

            • Krysta says:

              Hm. I kind of think that could be a good sign? If they’re really resolved on finishing storylines, that means they do see themselves invested in the books. And, hence, they see themselves as readers? Or, at least, I see them as readers. Sometimes it’s harder to see yourself as something, especially if you’re feeling frustrated at some point. I think we imagine the “real” readers never struggle and that’s not the case. I still struggle with certain books! I imagine I always will!

              That’s a fun policy! I can kind of see adults connecting after book three. That’s where things start to get a little darker and I do think adults are encouraged to see fun, whimsical things as “not for them” in some ways.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

              Oh man, I struggle with books ALL THE TIME. Actually, I struggle with the Classics more than anything else. I find that I need a group of people to discuss books with in order to find deeper meaning and value in many contexts. I need historical background and reflection on differing perspectives. Others help me achieve that. Series? I can run through a fantasy series in no time. 😀

              Exactly! The reading level starts to increase after book 2, as well. So darker themes, more challenging reading, plus more complex character and plot development. It’s a ton of fun. For some reason, many adults can’t seem to connect with their innerchild any longer. Which makes me sad.

              Like

            • Krysta says:

              I find classics challenging because they come from so many different periods and it helps to know some historical background and literary context. A good edition of a book will provide some of that, but not always a lot. Or sometimes there is no introduction and you’re on your own!

              Liked by 1 person

            • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

              Personally, I love annotated editions of classic books. It takes me about 1.5 billion years on average to read them, but I feel like I get a much stronger understanding of the text. That said… there aren’t a lot of them, and when I do find them, they are expensive. Any publishing companies you’d recommend which have historical background, literary context, and/or annotations? I’d love to hunt down some good copies.

              Like

            • Krysta says:

              I like Oxford University Press classics. They have endnotes, but not enough that they interrupt the story. It feels like a good format for casual readers who want to know more, but don’t want to be overwhelmed by reading critical articles like in a Norton edition. Emma, for instance, has notes explaining things like how much different carriages cost, so you can understand the grades in social class. Or it will explain things like “crossing the letter” to explain historical practices readers might not understand. They’re useful footnotes, not overly specific and scholarly.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

              I’ve never stopped to consider the different publishers and how they present annotated content differently. But, I also make use of my library more than any other literary access point so I take what I can get.

              I appreciate the insights; I’ll have to check out the Oxford University Press Classics. Perhaps this is what I need to really kick start reading some more Classics solo.

              Like

            • Krysta says:

              Yeah, my library doesn’t have a lot of annotated editions. Or many classics for that matter. And if you’re looking online at Project Gutenberg or some other free source, annotations aren’t likely to be included, either.

              Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.