Top 5 Things I Wish I Could Change About the Anne Series

Anne of Windy Poplars

Anne of Windy Poplars

Today I’m joining in (belatedly) with the Anne of Green Gables series read-along hosted by Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf and Jackie @ Death by Tsundoku.  You can find the details here if you would like to read along, catch up with reading along, or join in with some of the bonus posts!

Top 5 Things I Wish I Could Change About the Anne Series

(Spoilers Ahead for All Eight Books!)

The Treatment of Dora

I have written about this before, but I do not understand why Anne does not like Dora because–gasp!–Dora is a well-behaved child.  Apparently Dora is boring as a result and we do not need to hear much about her after Anne leaves Green Gables.  Poor Dora.

The End of Anne of Green Gables

You know the end.  The part where Matthew dies.  I cry every time.  This is potentially the worst death in all of literary history.

Rilla of Ingleside

Don’t get me wrong.  I love this book.  And I love Rilla and the way she grows when put to the test.  But watching Anne Blythe age and lose her spirit while her boys are off to war is the last thing I ever wanted.  Anne deserves better.  Her family deserves better.  It doesn’t help that my favorite character, Walter Blythe, dies.  Or that Una is left facing a lifetime alone.

The Fate of Jane Andrews

Why does everyone feel bad for Jane because she marries an old wealthy guy?  Maybe she wanted to marry him.  Maybe she loves him.  It does not seem right that Anne and Jane’s old acquaintances judge her for taking an opportunity Jane clearly wanted to take–for whatever reasons.

Anne’s Refusal to Apologize

Anne, think of all the years you could have had with Gilbert if you weren’t so stubborn!  You’re breaking my heart!

Not sure what to read after finishing Anne’s series?  Check out our flow chart with recommendations for L. M. Montgomery’s other works.

20 thoughts on “Top 5 Things I Wish I Could Change About the Anne Series

  1. christine @ the story salve says:

    100% agree, although a few of these were things I hadn’t even thought of until you pointed them out. The deaths in the Anne series, while realistic, just kill me every damn time.

    Also, I didn’t even know there was an Anne readathon going on right now!! I wish I had more time right now to take part!

    Like

  2. Alyssa says:

    Ugh. Agree 100% on every point, especially with the Rilla of Ingleside one as Walter is also my favorite character out of all of Anne’s children. That book made me sad because it seemed like Anne became a stranger to me, the harsh realities of life and of that time caught up to her, which happens to most of us as we grow older, I guess. But Walter, I cried buckets of tears from that chapter to the end, and my heart ached so much for Una, and Rilla giving her Walter’s letter to remember him by– I’m tearing up just trying to dredge those details from my mind. (T-T)

    Obviously, Rilla of Ingleside was my least favorite of the books, but the whole Anne series is my all time favorite series and this is a great post about it.
    Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      I know!!! I cry every time, even though I know what’s coming! Why did it have to be Walter? Why couldn’t Una have told him she loved him? Why?? 😦

      And it’s so sad to see Anne become tired and almost a little bitter. But I love how Montgomery doesn’t hold back from showing how the war affected the women at home. It was their fight, too.

      Like

  3. Rosie Amber says:

    I remember watching Anne Of Green Gables as a TV series, many years ago, but remember little about the story, perhaps I shall pick it up for a refresher on day.

    Like

  4. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    YAY! Thank you for joining up! It’s great to see other people join in with us. 😀

    I haven’t read Rilla yet, but it’s (obviously) on my TBR. Other than that, I completely agree with you about all of these. I can’t believe I didn’t think about Jane Andrews! That poor girl. Why is everyone harassing her when she obviously is quite happy and content? Personally, I think it’s just catty women all jealous that Jane is both rich and happy. They just couldn’t get over her good fortunes.

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      I guess Anne is a little bit of a snob. Jane isn’t as smart as she is, or not as imaginative, so she can’t imagine why Jane would luck into a wealthy marriage and can’t fathom that it might also be a happy one. But I think you’re right that jealousy might also come into play for the women. There’s nothing that says money and happiness can’t go together. But they act like if you have money, obviously you can’t have happiness!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

