Submit Your Best College Advice to Be Featured in August!

College Advice

Each year in August, Pages Unbound features roughly a week of posts geared towards college advice.  For example, we have posted about How to Write an Email to Your Professor and What to Expect on the First Day of a College Class.  You can check out all our academic posts here.

This year you can participate by telling us one piece of advice you wish you knew before college!  We’ll compile the answers and put them in a post on August 14 for our readers, crediting you and linking to your blog.  (Non-bloggers can also participate.  Anyone with good advice is welcome!)

Let us know if you have any questions in the comments!  You can also let us know if there are any topics we should address in future academic advice posts.

(There should be a Google form embedded here where you can submit your advice, but it may also just show up as a link to the form that you can click.)

https://docs.google.com/forms/u/1/d/e/1FAIpQLScpXIb0DlQPmpbh9vx6iBqXsqCbNfAXvQlXbOBBx8CcFNAuXg/viewform?embedded=true

8 thoughts on “Submit Your Best College Advice to Be Featured in August!

  1. LizScanlon says:

    The only thing I’d say is- study hard but don’t forget to enjoy these years and have fun with friends. And always remember when lazy- you’re doing this for you. Not for the teachers/professors, not for your parents or society’s norms. You’re doing this for you!
    Good luck to all going to college! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    What an amazing idea- I have a couple of pieces of advice that may be really specific to me- but I’d like to give them both anyway in the hope it will help someone else:
    It’s not like school. This is something I was told before I went, but damn if it isn’t good advice- because there will be things you loved in school and hate in uni and vice versa. So try different things, because you might find something new to love (and back up plans are useful too!).
    Okay, so before I went I was told “uni will be the best time of your life”- but what I really could have done with hearing is that uni isn’t the be all and end all. If it doesn’t work out exactly as you planned or you find yourself boxed in, there is the whole big wide world out there for you. Just keep a cool head and think of the bigger picture.
    I hope those are both appropriate for this! Good luck to everyone going to college!! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pinkspen says:

    College was such an experience for me… I made a ton of errors and learned many lessons. I have submitted 3 articles to COLLEGE MATE
    https://collegemate.org/2017/07/04/5-tips-to-help-you-avoid-the-freshman-fifteen/
    https://collegemate.org/2017/03/21/decoding-the-bro-code-one-night-stand-or-long-term-girlfriend/
    https://collegemate.org/2017/04/25/how-to-maintain-a-happy-long-distance-relationship/

    Here is one piece of advice I want to share with those perspective college students:
    Be active on your campus but don’t get so busy that you neglect your studies. Get to know other students, advisers, professors, colleagues, and employers. Join as many clubs and organizations that fit into your schedule. Build your network now, so that you will have strong connections for life after college!

    Great post idea. I hope to be featured. Please check out my articles I shared. I would love your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. fairydancer221 says:

    I would love to submit advice, but I would like it to be something that I would have actually listened to when I was entering college. Some things I knew and kept in mind when I entered college. Some other things I did learn since entering that I would have liked to know, but I don’t think I would have listened to those pieces of advice at the time. If I can think of something, I will contribute.

    Like

  5. katybronsk says:

    Well… a lot of my blog is focused around college related questions. However, the biggest advice that I would have given for myself is: study, don’t get lazy, get yourself an internship as soon as possible, participate more in extra curricular activities, and be more selective with people that you meet. Quantity doesn’t mean quality. Also, don’t procrastinate and remember your goals of going to college.

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

