The Truest Heart by E. D. Baker


Goodreads: The Truest Heart
Series: The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker #3
Source: Purchased
Published: October 11, 2016

Official Summary

Born to be a tooth fairy, Cory Feathering has been busy proving there’s another life meant for her — one of matchmaking! She’s already helped Marjorie Muffet and Goldilocks find true love, and now it’s Mary Lambkin’s turn. When Cory has a vision of Mary with one particular boy, Cory knows exactly what to do.

But it’s Cory’s own personal life that needs help. The Fairy Guilds are constantly hounding her, furious that she’s abandoned the guild she was born into in favor of choosing her own path. They won’t stop until justice has been served. As Cory prepares to fight for what she believes in, she must decide once and for all if she’s prepared to take on the responsibility of her biggest role yet, one that will change her destiny forever.


I’ve been enjoying E. D. Baker’s Fairy-Tale Matchmaker series so far (review for book 1), with my only concern being that the protagonist is much older than the normal middle grade protagonist.  (She’s looking for a job and even thinking about marriage as the series progresses.)  The stories, however, are light and fun–even with the ongoing theme of bullying–and combine fun fairy tale references and elements into a unique story.  It’s therefore with a heavy heart I must admit I thought this third installment in the series was just okay.

All the favorite characters from the first two books are present, and Cory continues to work on her matchmaking and play with her band.  However, the plot really flattens and the pace slows because the guild harassment has become so bad at this point in the series that Cory must give up her odd jobs–the things that really brought some spice to the series, particularly in the first book.  Indeed, several characters encourage Cory to barely leave her house until the danger is past, and though she does flout this advice (thank goodness, or nothing would happen in the book!), the story is really just an endless list of mean things that guild members do to her.  It feels very episodic and as if there’s not much progression towards anything.

Weirdly, after not much happening, I did get such a distinct sense that enough was wrapped up in the final chapters of the book that I suspected this might be the end of the series.  (But no, I checked on Goodreads, and a fourth book is planned for fall 2017.)  I was somewhat entertained by this book, and I enjoyed reading it, but it just doesn’t hold up to the magic of the first two books. I’m hoping for more from the fourth.

Note: You do have to read the entire series for this book really to make sense. I’ve noticed several Goodreads reviewers post dissatisfied reviews because they read this book and not the first two.  I don’t recommend that because this is not a series where the books can essentially function as standalones.



Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.