If You Like Graphic Novels, Then Read…

If You Like Graphic Novels

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here.

March by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell

Congressman John Lewis shares his life story, beginning in book one with his youth in Alabama and his activity with the Nashville Student Movement as they protested segregation through lunch counter sit-ins.

Persepolis Marjane Satrapi

Marjane Satrapi chronicles her life in Iran during the Iranian Revolution, from the age of six to the age of fourteen.  The daughter of Marxists, she speaks out loudly against oppression and finds small ways to show her rebellion.  Translated by Mattias Ripa.

El Deafo by Cece Bell

Cece worries how the kids at her new school will react to her hearing aid.  Will she be able to make any friends at all?  But then she discovers that, with the Phonic Ear, she can hear her teacher anywhere in the school–even the bathroom!  Does this mean she has superpowers?

Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge

When Paige’s family moves from Virginia to New York City, she has trouble feeling like she belongs.  Can her secret sketchbook help her find a way to be comfortable expressing herself?

Nat Turner by Kyle Baker

Baker’s wordless graphic novel is supplemented with excerpts from Nat Turner’s confessions to tell the story of the 1831 slave uprising in Southampton County, Virgina.

Maus by Art Spiegelman

Spiegelman tells the story of his parents’ experiences in Europe during WWII, from their attempts to evade deportation to their time in the concentration camps. Interspersed is the story of his own experience trying to come to terms with his parents’ stories.

Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson, et al.

Sixteen-year-old Kamala Khan loves superheroes, but she never expected to become one herself.  Now that she has the ability to change appearance, however, will she find herself trapped in others’ expectations or will she find the strength to be herself?

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “If You Like Graphic Novels, Then Read…

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s