American Splendor: The Life and Times of Harvey Pekar by Harvey Pekar, et al.

american-splendorINFORMATION

Goodreads: American Splendor: The Life and Times of Harvey Pekar
Series:  American Splendor
Source: Purchased
Published: 1986

SUMMARY

It’s the 1970s in Seattle and Harvey Pekar is working a menial job while selling jazz records on the side and trying to sell the comic books he’s writing.

Review

Presenting everyday moments to illustrate that anyone can be the star of a comic, that you don’t need to Superman to have a story, is an intriguing intellectual project.  Even if we accept that Harvey Pekar can never really represent everyone, that he represents a certain segment of the population, perhaps the working man or the stifled intellectual, it’s still new to write a comic about your experiences waiting in line at the grocery store.  But “new” and “intellectually interesting” do not always translate into an engaging read.

Some of the stories in this collection captured me more than others, but largely I did not care for the depiction of Pekar–angry, abrupt, cheap, and dishonest–and I hardly cared to hear about the random, mundane moments of his life.  They are so mundane that they could, in fact, happen to anyone and that’s what makes them boring.  Maybe I’d be interested in a friend recounting this tale, but I hardly care about the details of character-Pekar’s life.  He waited a long time in line at the store.  Fascinating.

Additionally, the comics often feel text-heavy, as if we don’t really need the illustrations. Sometimes Pekar is pictured just standing at the frame, talking.  For the whole comic.  Yes, we can decode his body language, but the images seem so secondary that I find it tempting to gloss over them and just read the story.  I generally prefer comics where the images and words really work together and comment on and subvert each other.  Of course the images and text have to be working together here, but nothing about the presentation really inspires me to read closely and discover how.

In the end, I understand what Pekar is doing.  I understand this was a new concept when it was first published, that the team of artists he employs each create character-Pekar in different ways, that Pekar really wants to highlight the heroism of the “ordinary” person.  But, as a reader, I just was not hooked.

3 starsKrysta 64

7 thoughts on “American Splendor: The Life and Times of Harvey Pekar by Harvey Pekar, et al.

  1. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    I hadn’t heard of this (what I’m assuming based on your desc )is a graphic novel until now. It is an interesting idea, but I can see how reading about menial things doesn’t translate into the most exciting read. Especially if the MC isn’t terribly likeable.

    Like

  2. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    “He waited a long time in line at the store. Fascinating.” You totally won me with raw, sarcastic honesty in this! I am unfamiliar with this title, but everything you say makes me feel anything but. I will be passing on this. I enjoyed this review so much!

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      I do know people who find this book really intelligent and who are intrigued by the idea that it celebrates small moments. However, I really don’t care about Pekar’s trip to the grocery store. I just don’t!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    haha oh dear, I have to say, I hate books with mundane things in them- waiting in the store for hours would bore me so much!! Think I’ll skip this one- even if it does show ordinary heroism! Great review though!

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

