If You Like The Scarlet Pimpernel, Then Read…

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here.

If You Like the Scarlet Pimpernel Then Read

Rook by Sharon Cameron

Sophia Bellamy lives in a world without technology where the Sunken City once was called Paris and the Commonwealth was England.  But even though technology is outlawed to prevent the devastation it once caused long ago, history repeats itself.  The people of the Sunken City die each day by the Blade–unless they are fortunate enough to be rescued by the Red Rook, a mysterious savior who empties the prisons and leaves only a red-tipped feather behind.

Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund

In a post-apocalyptic world, revolution has broken out on the island of Galatea.  The revolutionaries, once captured, seek escape through the plots of the mysterious Wild Poppy–in reality, Persis Blake, a high society girl from Albion.  But then Persis falls in love and her entire world may be in danger.

The Laughing Cavalier by Baroness Orczy

Diogenes, a soldier of fortune and a mercenary, finds himself in the Netherlands in need of money.  He therefore accepts the job of kidnapping a woman who accidentally overheard plans to assassinate the ruler.  Unfortunately, even the best of plans can go awry when one’s heart becomes entangled.  A story of the Scarlet Pimpernel’s ancestor.

The Prisoner of Zenda by Anthony Hope

On the eve of the coronation of Rudolf of Ruritania, he is drugged and imprisoned by his brother Michael, who wishes to seize the throne.  Fortunately, his distant English cousin Rudolf looks strikingly similar, allowing Rudolf to impersonate the king and attempt to restore him to his throne.  But things get complicated when Rudolf fall in love with the king’s betrothed.

Scaramouche by Rafael Sabatini

When his friend is killed by an aristocrat, an unknown lawyer leaves his life behind to join a band of travelling actors and seek revenge.  Set during the French Revolution.

18 thoughts on “If You Like The Scarlet Pimpernel, Then Read…

  1. orchidsarefascinating says:

    I LOVE THE SCARLET PIMPERNEL!!! I read it a year ago and was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. I thought it was an obscure book though because I’ve never heard anyone mention it. The rest of the books in the series are currently on my Goodreads list. Thanks for the post! I think I’ll try Rook and Scaramouche.

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      Well, I certainly think the sequels are obscure. They’re out of copyright, though, so there are some free ebooks available for Kindle and such. I haven’t read them all yet but so far my favorite it I Will Repay.

      Like

      • orchidsarefascinating says:

        That’s the third one right? I was just getting around to reading the second, Sir Percy Leads the Band. I seriously love TSP! I tried to read A Tale of Two Cities and, yeah…I never finished it, and it made me dislike books taking place during the French Revolution. Also, normally I can predict plot twists from a mile away, so I was pleased when I couldn’t figure out who the Scarlet Pimpernel was right away.

        Like

        • Krysta says:

          It’s the second one she wrote in the series, but I think the fifth chronologically. I haven’t read Sir Percy Leads the Band yet. I’ll have to try to get around to it sometime!

          Like

    • Krysta says:

      I have For Darkness Shows the Stars, too. I remember having mixed feelings about it, especially the depiction of people who stayed in slavery just to help out the protagonist. I don’t think that’s realistic.

      Like

  2. Lori says:

    This is a fun feature! I’ve had Across a Star-Swept Sea on my TBR for way too long. I need to finally read it.

    Like

  3. TeacherofYA says:

    Have you read Across A Star-Swept Sea? I loved it. It really goes best with For Darkness Shows The Stars, which introduces some later characters in the second book. I think the first one is based on Persuasion? It’s another adaptation. I loved them both but have never read the originals.

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

