2016: Blogging Year in Review

Briana’s Favorite Books Read in 2016

  • Beowulf Trans. by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • A Tangled Web by L.M. Montgomery
  • The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
  • Otter Goes to School by Sam Garton
  • Exile for Dreamers by Kathleen Baldwin
  • Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
  • A Secret Vice by J.R.R. Tolkien (review coming 2017)
  • Winter by Marissa Meyer
  • In the Beginning by Chaim Potok

Dishonorable Mentions (Things We Did Not Enjoy)

Blogging Stats and Facts

  • Most Popular Post: The Dilemma of Delphini Diggory (Finally, If You Like Jane Eyre, Then Read…has been supplanted as our most viewed post after three years!)
  • Top Countries for Visitors: United States, United Kingdom, Canada
  • Top Referrers: Search engines, WordPress reader, Twitter
  • Top Search Terms: “dephini diggory,” “delphini,” “delphini harry potter,” “mark of the thief summary,” “court of mist and fury spoilers,” “books like jane eyre”
  • Top Commenters: Jillian; TeacherofYA; Books, Vertigo, and Tea; Geraldine; Megan
  • Blog Views: Over 50,000 (If you read our mid-year report, you’ll know this is our biggest year by far! Views for 2015 were a littl over 27,000.)

Reading Stats and Facts

  • Oldest Book Read This Year:  Beowulf (circa 900)
  • Longest Book Briana Read: Winter by Marissa Meyer
  • Briana’s Pages Read: Over 30,000 (Lower than last year!)
  • Most Read Books: Young Adult, Middle Grade, Classics (shocking!)

Fun Features from 2016

Our Most Viewed Posts

Events Coming in 2016

  • Our fourth Tolkien Reading Event (You can guest post!)
  • Focus on Shakespeare
  • More blogging tips in January

21 thoughts on “2016: Blogging Year in Review

  1. Sarah says:

    Looks like a great year of reading. I really need to pick up the lunar chronicles series, at least one book seems to have made many bloggers top ten. But I agreed about the glittering court being disappointing… Its sad to admit but I feel Richelle Meads books are going down hill 😦

    Like

    • Briana says:

      I love the Lunar Chronicles! Sometimes they’re predictable, but they’re just so much fun! The Glittering Court is the only Read book I’ve read, and it hasn’t really inspired me to pick up more.

      Like

  2. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    I actually completely forgot that they made a 2016 remake of Anne…but I might give it a miss now >_<
    And I'm honestly so happy I wasn't the only one who didn't like The Crown's Game – I found myself skipping through most of it, I didn't connect with the world or the characters, and it just wasn't the book for me I guess!
    Also, congrats on over 50,000 views – that's really awesome! ❤

    Like

    • Briana says:

      I was vaguely interested even though I wasn’t sure about the trailer, but Krysta’s review has me second guessing myself. Maybe I’ll just rewatch the Megan Follows version sometime.

      Yes! I didn’t connect with the characters, and making the town pretty seemed very unrelated to proving who would be the better sorcerer to lead the emperor’s army!

      Thank you! I’m really excited, since our stats have been the same, about 27,000, from 2013-2015. It’s nice to feel as if we’re growing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

        Yes! When you + Krysta mentioned the latest one wasn’t great and to maybe watch the Megan Follows one instead, I had a compulsion to just watch it – AND WATCH IT I DID! So much nostalgia in it for me – loved it! ❤
        YES. I just didn't get the plot and everything. It seemed a bit dragged out at times too 😦
        Yeah – here's to more years of growth! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. elimadison2019 says:

    Congratulations! It seems like you had a pretty awesome year in books and bloggish things 🙂 I love how many things you do for classic lit, and I hope I can see more of it/be a part of it in the future. I used to read a lot of it and have been trying to get into it again recently. Ooh, and I like your Dishonorable Mentions section. I liked The Crown’s Game but have always felt like I over-rated it a little bit 😦 Great post!

    Thanks for stopping by The Silver Words!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Oh man, I loved The Rithmatist and Illuminae as well! I’m so glad to see those posted here. I also enjoyed The Girl Who Drank the Moon, so I have a feeling our reading tastes will parallel quite well. 😀
    Congrats on making 50,000 views! That’s a huge deal. I have aspirations for that, but, well, I’m a few years behind you. I have so much to learn from you both. Great job this year!

    Like

    • Briana says:

      Oh, good! I’m always excited to find someone with similar reading tastes! Even with the Internet and the whole book community, it can feel difficult sometimes. :p

      I’m pretty sure other bloggers have reached the milestone much earlier than we have, but I’m just glad to feel like our stats have finally grown! They were basically “stuck” at 27,000 for the three previous years.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

