How to Write More Posts for Your Blog without Reading More Books

Blogging Tips and Tricks

Of course to be a book blogger you have to read books. But if you’re feeling pressure to be the fastest reader on the Internet in order to have fresh content for your blog, think beyond the book review to other ways you can feature books—without increasing your reading pace.

1.) Analyze an Interesting Aspect of the Book

Book reviews tend to tackle a book as a whole, but you can think about one particular aspect of the book to analyze more in-depth.  This may sound a little like writing an essay for a literature class (and maybe thinking of it that way would actually be helpful for narrowing down a topic), but the post really doesn’t have to be academic.  It just has to focus on one interesting aspect of a book and interpreting it, whether that’s talking about a certain character, a particular theme, or anything else you can think of. Stephanie from Chasm of Books does this in her post about Boromir’s characterization in The Lord of the Rings, and Krysta does it in her post analyzing Delphini Diggory’s role in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

2.) Discuss a Controversy/Debate Surrounding the Book

Everyone loves a good controversy.  Instead of discussing a controversial point about a book briefly in your review, you can dedicate an entire post to it.  You can even do this for books you’ve read a while ago but are still very familiar with, not just ones you’ve read recently.  On Pages Unbound, Krysta took on the question of whether Harry Potter and the Cursed Child counts as canon or fanfiction.  But this approach also works very well for classics.  Some questions never go out of style, such as whether Jane Eyre’s Mr. Rochester is really romantic or whether C.S. Lewis’s portrayal of Susan Pevensie in The Last Battle is sexist.

3.) Write a Unique List

You can always feature fun lists on your book blog such as “My Top Ten Favorite Fantasies” or “The Best Books I’ve Read This Year.” But you can also brainstorm lists that focus on an interesting aspect of one specific book or series.  For example, Stephanie does this in her post about the Six Bravest Acts in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1.  (And, I mean, she can write a whole new post about pt. 2 if she wants still!)

4.) Feature Books You’re Reading for School or Work

If you’re reading a book for classwork, consider featuring it on your blog!  Classic books (as long as they aren’t too specialized or obscure) are often very popular with other readers (who may have also been forced to read them for school).  Even if you’re reading a nonfiction book, consider if there’s a fun way you could introduce it to other readers. Maybe instead of a traditional review you can feature some interesting facts you learned from the book that you think others would like to learn, too.  BONUS: Writing about your school books will help reinforce them in your mind, and you may even do better in class or get a cool idea for an class essay.

5.) Consider a Co-Blogger

Giving up individual control over your blog is a big decision. And there are definitely some less-than-good co-bloggers in the world. (Krysta and I had two just ghost on us here at Pages Unbound.)  However, one sure-fire way to get more content and get more posts about a wider variety of books is to welcome a new reader to your blog.  After all, book bloggers these days are often expected to juggle a number of tasks in addition to just reading books and writing posts about them.  If you think a co-blogger might be the way to go for you, you can check out some of my suggestions for finding a great co-blogger.

Tell us in the comments: What unique content do you post other than book reviews?

Briana

17 thoughts on “How to Write More Posts for Your Blog without Reading More Books

  1. Maddie A. says:

    Great ideas! Thanks for the tips🙂
    I used to post about food on Fridays, like what I learned in class, but I don’t really have any practical classes this semester so I don’t have new content for Fridays. I’m probably going to try one of your ideas🙂

    Like

  2. anhdara13 says:

    I’ve been honestly struggling to come up with posts to write – also scheduling. I am BAD at keeping to a schedule – and this is so helpful. Definitely things I can consider, thank you!

    Like

  3. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    YES to all these tips!❤ I love writing discussions so much and most of the time, my idea comes from the books I read. Like the other weeks I read a bunch of books with great family so I decided to write a post to talk about the roles of family in YA fiction and it was fun!😀 I also love making list because sometimes when there's no books to review and when I'm too tired to write a proper discussions, list is just the way to go. And even better, people love list!😀 great tips!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stephanie B (@Chasm_of_Books) says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Briana! These tips are perfect and thinking of it as literature essay helped me write the first few articles that I attempted. These types of posts take more time and can be more difficult to procure but they’re totally worth the effort! Lists are fun to make but if they’re done right then they’re just as much effort a lot of the time, just in a different way.

    Like

    • Briana says:

      I think I linked to your post about three times because I scheduled a bunch of posts around the same time and kept thinking “I really like that post about Boromir.”😀

      Agreed! I think reviews can end up formulaic. Even though I try to say something individual that stands out about each book, I still know I’m probably going to talk about plot, characters, pacing, etc. Writing a post that breaks out of that mold is definitely more work.

      Like

  5. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    Because my reviews are spoiler free, I do enjoy writing “spoiler discussion” posts if I really need to vent my feelings. Those are always a lot of fun and get more of a discussion going than “oh I loved it too!”.

    Memes are always great but they can get overwhelming. I just do them on whims. Same with tags! But they make for nice “filler” without being totally obvious that that is what they are😛

    Like

    • Briana says:

      Ooh, good point! I love discussions that can get into the detail of the book, and it’s true that most people try to avoid that in their reviews.

      We used to do more memes, but we’ve been pretty good with other comment for the past couple months, I think. My problem is sort of that now I follow so many blogs that deciding WHICH meme to read is overwhelming. I’m not going to read 50 Top Ten Tuesdays, but picking three seems so arbitrary. So I kind of flail around and don’t read any.😦

      Liked by 1 person

  6. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Great post!🙂 After you sent me that link on Twitter, I was curious what others were planning to write in replace of book reviews. Please no more memes! Lol I’ve honestly had enough of them. I only post one on occasion and I know you both post very few, but I wish some people would find another way to write about books than memes. This is a perfect way to do it! Great advice! I love the idea of taking something from a novel, like what Stephanie and Krysta did with their posts, and use that as the entire basis of a post. I think that’s not only super original and very creative, but I also think that would appeal more to your followers than the usual book review. I often try to mix up my blog with discussion posts and tips for bloggers and writers, but I also write a fair amount of book reviews. I believe I post at least 10 reviews per month. I should try this with a few and see how it goes. Thanks for the tips!🙂

    Like

    • Briana says:

      I used to read more memes but have recently stopped reading memes altogether partly because right now I just follow far too many blogs. If I have 50 Waiting on Wednesday in my feed, how do I decide which ones to read and comment one? Probably none of them are inherently more interesting than any other ones. So I just flail and give up and read none. I know a lot of people say their meme posts get lots of traffic, but I’m worried a lot of people are overwhelmed by how many are in their feed, and they’re not going to interest many readers. Probably a lot of the traffic comes from the meme link-up post itself, and not followers of the blogs in question.

      I also think a lot of people would be interested in more focused book discussions. If people are worried that book reviews aren’t popular, then this is potentially one way to still discuss the book but offer readers something new.

      Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

