Movie Review: Big Hero 6 (2014)

Big Hero 6Information

Directors: Don Hall and Chris Williams
Studio: Walt Disney Studios
Release: 2014

summary

Technology prodigy Hiro has to team up with an emergency care robot named Baymax and some robotics college students to take down a masked villain who is trying to conquer San Fransokyo.

Review

After hearing so much about how heartwarming and enjoyable Big Hero 6 is, I decided to check it out of the library and see what all the fuss is about.  Though I did think the movie was fun, I also found it supremely predictable and not big on any likable characters besides Baymax.

I can get behind a good superhero story, but Big Hero 6 was rather generic in terms of set-up and plot.  I was able to predict not only who the masked villain was, but also literally every other major plot twist and event.  I give leeway for some predictability in children’s movies because a lot will be new to the intended audience, but Big Hero 6 is really following a bland superhero script in many ways.

Baymax is my favorite character (and perhaps everyone else’s?), but beyond him I wasn’t particularly invested in anyone.  Of course I was rooting for Hiro to develop his talent and accomplish his goals, but the other members of the Big Hero 6 team I can basically take or leave.  At best I’m neutral towards them; at worst I find them irritating.  I might have been interested in seeing more of the aunt, but I think she could have been annoying in larger doses, as well.  Perhaps my second favorite character should be the cat.

Big Hero 6 is mildly entertaining, but the fact is that I have seen many movies that are much better.  Perhaps I’m the black sheep on this one, but I won’t be going out of my way to recommend it to others.

3 stars Briana

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: Big Hero 6 (2014)

  1. Krysta says:

    Yes, the film is predictable, and yes we really ought to have seen more of Hiro’s team so we could get to know them more and invest emotionally in them. But did I love this film? Absolutely! I think there’s going to be a cartoon, so hurray for more Big Hero 6!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

