Web Series Review: Green Gables Fables, Season 1


This modern adaptation of L. M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables tells Anne’s story through a series of vlogs, Tweets, and Instagram photos.


Anne of Green Gables is one of my favorite stories, so when I realized that an adaptation in the style of The Lizzie Bennett Diaries had been made, of course I had to check it out.  Unfortunately, my inability to stop comparing it to The Lizzie Bennet Diaries led me to be perhaps a little over-critical of the production, but, on the whole, I enjoyed it.  You really can’t go wrong with L. M. Montgomery.

Since I’d enjoyed LBD so much (okay, I never finished it, but I did enjoy it), I Iooked forward to seeing how Green Gables Fables would adapt an older work to a modern setting.  LBD, for example, had to figure out how to cause a scandal with Lydia when sleeping around is no longer as socially taboo as it was in Jane Austen’s time.  Anne has fewer moments that are less likely to translate, but I still hoped to see the modern-day setting really impact the story.  Why adapt if you’re not going to find ways to use the new setting, right?

Green Gables Fables, however, plays the entire Anne story pretty straight-forwardly.  It makes Anne a high school student in real-life Avonlea (not on PEI–sorry!) and it gives her a camera and a Twitter account, but otherwise nearly all the elements of the story are basically the same.  No, Anne does not crack a slate over Gilbert’s head but a locker white board (you know those things that are basically cardboard–so…not as dramatic) and her big night out is at a poetry slam, but it’s easy enough to change a few words. and keep the narrative the same.  Don’t expect any surprises here.

Fans of Anne of Green Gables, however, will probably not mind hearing the same story again.  And the show does a fair job of compressing things to make the romance more front-and-center, so Anne/Gilbert shippers will have a lot to enjoy.  Altogether, watching this web series is not a bad way to spend a few days.

3 starsKrysta 64

11 thoughts on “Web Series Review: Green Gables Fables, Season 1

  1. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    …ITS 11:30 AT NIGHT AND I HAVE UNI TOMORROW, but I READ YOUR POST, and I HAD NO IDEA THIS WAS A THING, and now I have to watch it. Thaaaaaanks Krysta….thaaanks…
    No, but seriously – thanks so much for sharing – I’ve always thought that more LBD like videos for other classics would be cool and I never thought that there was one for one of my favourite classics!


    • Krysta says:

      Yeah, there are some cool selections out there, though I haven’t seen them all. I think the Little Women vlog is called The March Family Letters. I’d like to check that out some time.


  2. Rachel says:

    I enjoyed this series – I wasn’t sure about it at the beginning but I think it picked up a lot after the first few episodes. I haven’t got around to watching all of the second series though – I’ll have to get around to that sometime🙂


    • Krysta says:

      I wasn’t sure initially, either, as my personal vision of Anne wasn’t a shouting, fast-talking teen, but eventually she toned the acting down a bit and I was able to enjoy the story more.


  3. DoingDewey says:

    I’ve really enjoyed some retellings that are basically the exact same story as the original. I think if you enjoy something enough, it can be fun just to revisit the original🙂


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

