Top Ten Tuesday (134): Books I’d Buy Now

TTT starsTop Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week the topic is:

Ten Books I would Buy Now if Handed a Gift Card

  1. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne: Obviously.
  2. The Golden Specific by S. E. Grove: Who doesn’t like a book with maps?
  3. Counting Thyme by Melanie Conklin: Thyme struggles to adjust to a move to Manhattan.
  4. Otter Goes to School by Sam Garton: My library doesn’t own this one for some reason!
  5. The Girl Who Raced Fairyland All the Way Home by Catherynne M. Valente: All the past rulers of Fairyland have been brought to life again.  So who should wear the crown?
  6. A Snicker of  Magic by Natalie Lloyd: I read a library copy, but I wouldn’t mind having one for myself!  Or to share!
  7. Disenchanted: The Trials of Cinderella by Megan Morrison: Apparently Cinderella wants to unionize laborers?  Or at least give them a better standard of life.  (It’s supposed to be released in October, but I can pre-order, right?)
  8. The Anne of Green Gables  books by L. M. Montgomery: I still don’t own them all.  It’s a tragedy.
  9. The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave: Such a beautiful cover!  And it’s about a cartographer’s daughter!
  10. The Crooked Sixpence by Jennifer Bell:  It sounds quirky and I love quirky MG books.

Krysta 64

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (134): Books I’d Buy Now

  1. Greg says:

    I haven’t read the Anne of Green Gables books but so many people speak highly of them, it’s neat they’ve had such an effect on people. A full set would be neat I think. And I love that cover of Counting Thyme!


    • Krysta says:

      I don’t know why, but every time I reread Anne I am amazed all over again by how beautiful the books are. And I’m finding I appreciate her later books more as I grow older and understand what she’s going through better.

      Isn’t it lovely? I had the book on hold at my library but it got lost about two months ago and apparently hasn’t turned up again.


    • Krysta says:

      I think this will be the last Fairyland book, but I’m okay with that because the rest of the series never matched the first book, in my opinion.


  2. Jamie Wu says:

    I still haven’t got the new Harry Potter book too. I didn’t preorder it and my local bookstores are now out stock. Have to check back in a week to see if they have it up again. It’s a little pricey though.


  3. kimmiegg says:

    I wish I owned the whole Anne of Green Gables series. Although I did read the whole series, it would be so nice to have them lined up on my bookshelf (or am I being to greedy…)


  4. Lunch-Time Librarian says:

    I balked when I saw the ebook price for the new HP was $18 (which is insane for an ebook, even a new release) but ended up caving and buying it because I just needed to know what happened. And general HP pride.


    • Krysta says:

      I don’t mind ebook prices being the same as the prices for physical copies since the cost is going towards paying the salaries of the people who edited, proofread, illustrated, coded, etc. the book and not towards the cost of paper. Even so, I borrowed the book because I don’t have $18 to spare right now. And I wanted to read it before I ran across spoilers!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Zoey @ Uncreatively Zoey says:

    I can knock 7 out of 10 books I would buy if I was given free money for it – the Bloomsbury Harry Potter boxed set. I think I’ll be eyeing that for the rest of my life.

    And I just realized I don’t own ANY of the Anne of Green Gables books, NOT A SINGLE ONE. FOR SHAME.


    • Krysta says:

      Ooh. Which covers does that have? I like the new ones but am also partial to the old ones. It’s all so hard to decide!

      I only have a few assorted Anne books from used book sales. I’d like a nice set of them all where the covers are not taped together. ;b


  6. Stephanie B (@Chasm_of_Books) says:

    I don’t know much about most of these books but YES TO HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD. It’s so beautiful. I am going to take bookish pictures of it. It feels amazing too. I am in love with the cover. It might be my favorite.


    • Krysta says:

      I hadn’t really looked that closely at the cover before, honestly. (Whoever lent it to me took the dust jacket off.) But it is pretty intriguing now that you mention it. 😀


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

