Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Wrap-Up

Anne of Green Gables Read-Along

This is the final wrap-up post for the July Anne of Green Gables Read-Along!  Thank you so much to everyone who participated. It was so much fun to read with you and discuss the book. If you have a review or any final thoughts, please leave us all a link in the comments so we can check it out!

I wrote a review of Anne of Green Gables previously, and Krysta has a whole L.M. Montgomery event planned for October. So instead of writing another review, I just want to list some of my general thoughts and impressions after reading the book this time.

Anne of Green Gables

  1. Anne of Green Gables is just so good. I know I’ve said this before, but I am always amazed by how much I love this book. I’ve probably read it at least 15 times now, and it’s always enjoyable.  This is not one of those books that was great when I read it as a child but falls flat when I read it as an adult.  It is not a book I ever get tired of.  Every time Montgomery manages to draw me into the story.  It’s one of my favorite books, and I imagine it always will be.
  2. Anne always inspires me.  Anne certainly has her failings, but she’s also incredibly kind and optimistic.  Every time I read the book, I make an informal commitment to live a little bit more like her: seeing good in everyone and joy in even the little things as life. (How delightful to be excited by something as simple as sleeping in a spare room bed!) I want to see all the potential in the world that Anne does.
  3. Diana is still boring, and I’m sorry I think so.  I have never particularly liked Diana and have always been a bit baffled why Anne loves her so.  I think I finally have the solution though: Diana would be a lovely person to know in real life, but is completely dull as a book character. She has the singular problem of just being too nice.  As far as one can tell, Diana never gets into trouble or does anything untoward (besides that bed-jumping incident, where she was peer-pressured by Anne). Diana is always lady-like and polite.  She always obeys her mother and respects adults. She’s a wonderful person.  She just doesn’t have enough rebelliousness to do something bad or enough imagination to do something ridiculous just because she thinks it would be fun.  There’s just no story in a person like that.
  4. Montgomery’s prose is beautiful. I always know that Montgomery is a wonderful writer in the back of my mind, but rereading her books always reminds me with full force.  She has everything down: gorgeous descriptions, individual voices for each character’s dialogue, the ability to write something either biting or beautiful.  I love YA books, but many modern authors are far more concerned with plot than prose. Montgomery does both with amazing skill. If I could write like anyone, I think I might choose her.


10 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Wrap-Up

  1. Ceillie Simkiss says:

    October is the absolute perfect month for an Anne event and I look forward to it! I actually really like Diana because she brings Anne back down to Earth and shows you how a girl her age should be acting, which is important when you have no clue how an 11-year-old girl should act on Prince Edward Island. She also draws Anne out of her own head when she needs to be, which is so important. I found I like her better in later books when she kind of has her own life outside of Anne, though. If you’re into audiobooks, the ones read by Colleen Winton are absolutely amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krysta says:

      I’ve been listening to the audiobooks but I think they’re narrated by Susan O’Malley. I like them but I think her voices for people accidentally change sometimes…. And most of them sound kind of the same.


        • Krysta says:

          I find Davy kind of annoying and am sad Dora is only mentioned when people want to remark that they find her goodness boring and they love Davy more. What’s wrong with being a nice, obedient person??


            • Krysta says:

              Sure, which might make her a boring character, but Marilla and Anne are always saying they like Davy better because he’s bad. I feel awful for Dora. She’s trying to do what Marilla wants and the result is that Marilla and Anne think she’s dull.


            • Ceillie Simkiss says:

              From what I’ve listened to, she doesn’t get upset over much and she doesn’t get excited over a whole lot either, so there’s not a whole lot for them to get attached too. I’d imagine it would be easy to love Davy, who requires attention on a regular basis, who absolutely adores Anne, and is eternally curious. They’ve said several times that they love her, too, she’s just so different from her twin.


  2. Lost In A Good Book says:

    Thanks guys for hosting the whole event. I really enjoyed it a lot. Looking forward to October!
    I like Diana but I think she also suffers from what Matthew observed, she just pales in comparison to Anne. She’s lovely and a kindred spirit and I know I’d like her in real life, but she’s just not Anne with an e.


    • Krysta says:

      It’s because Anne is so glad she lives in a world with Octobers! 😉

      I think Diana is a sort of foil to Anne. She does show what a nice P.E.I. girl is like as Ceillie mentions, but then I think there might be a bit of a critique going on. The girls, if I recall, are basically told to be silent and they just sidle along when approached. It’s sort of like Montgomery is suggesting that there’s a point where you’re stifling the individual through societal regulation.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. La La in the Library says:

    I will get my wrap-up post done this week! I adored reading about Anne again after 30 YEARS! I appreciated it more this time, too. I think Annes need Dianas because two people with big imaginations tend to get competitive with it and tension in the friendship ensues. I am looking forward to the Montgomery event in October! Thank you so much for hosting the read-a-long.🙂


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

