Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (Guest Post by Kate)

Classic Literature Event

This July Pages Unbound is celebrating classic literature with a collection of guest posts. We asked other readers to tell us what one of their favorite classics is and why we should read it.

Kate is a lover of dark chocolate, Harry Potter, Les Miserables, and Queen.  Visit her at Read and Dream.

Jane Eyre

“I am no bird, and no net ensnares me; I am a free human being with an independent will.”

Starting about a year ago, I have made it a priority to start reading more classics. I have read masterpieces starting from A Tale of Two Cities to Things Fall Apart,each one contributing something new to my perspective of the world. Yet, only one stands out in my mind as my ultimate favorite: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

It is insightful, thrilling and revolutionizing. Here is why I treasure this book so dearly.

1. Jane herself.

She grows up with no true family, with no wealth, with not much to go off of in her life. Her aunt and cousins bully her, and when she resists she is thrown in a boarding school where she is humiliated and malnourished. Yet she finds strength. What I really adore about Jane Eyre is her observance of others. She pays attention to everything, even the littlest details that showcase themselves in people’s eyes. The book was written in first person (rare for a classic) and I believe there is nothing to lose and everything to gain from this because she is so delicate and definite with her imagery and descriptions of emotion.

2. What is says about women.

She is often in awe and admiration of the resolve, passion, and fierceness of another character, but she doesn’t seem to know that she possesses all those qualities herself. She makes her own decision to become a governess, and believes most strongly in the power of conscience and judgement, even when it comes in the face of one of the strongest love stories ever to be written. I believe that this is truly a recollection of what it is to be a woman. Jane is not extraordinary, she is not beautiful, and is often submissive. However, throughout her life she is the picture of independence.

3. The depiction of love as something dark and complex, yet beautiful.

Jane and Mr. Rochester’s love is in one word passionate. There are circumstances that stand in their way, and each of them are so whole and complete on their own. However, they perfectly complement each other and it really shows the test of separation and other unfortunate complexities of love. Bronte’s writing, through Jane’s point of view (first person), is incredibly vivid and shows the intricacies of passion beautifully.

I hope that all of you get the chance to read this book!

“I am not an angel,” I asserted; “and I will not be one till I die: I will be myself.”

Thanks for having me, Krysta!

One thought on “Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (Guest Post by Kate)

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    Great post and I totally agree. The best thing about the book is Jane. She’s such a strong and independent character. She has her beliefs and morals and she sticks to them no matter what.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

