Anne of Green Gables Read-Along

Here is the fourth set of discussion questions for our Anne of Green Gables read-along.  If you would like to sign up, you are free to do so at any point throughout the read-along. The sign-up post also has the schedule for the event, including discussion questions and other activities.

Feel free to answer the questions on your own blog and leave us a link in the comments, or just answer in the comments.  You can also answer the questions even if you are not officially reading with us.

The final recap and review will be posted next Sunday.  To tweet about the read-along, you can use the hashtag #readAnneShirley.

Fun Fact

From The Annotated Anne of Green Gables edited by Wendy E. Barry, Margart Anne Doody, and Mary E. Doody Jones.

With the Normal School qualification combined with high school completion, a girl could teach at age sixteen. A boy was supposed to be eighteen, although exceptions did occur. Because Gilbrt is two years older than Anne, they are able to become teachers at the same time…Men and women in Anne’s day were on a different pay scale for the same work.  Gilbert could therefore better afford to pay board than Anne…Women thus became attractive to employers as they would take less pay. (431)

Discussion Questions

  1. What do you think of Anne’s competitive spirit studying for and then getting into Queen’s?  Were you expecting her to do so well academically?
  2. How did you feel about Matthew’s death? Do you think this was foreshadowed?
  3. Did you get the resolution between Anne and Gilbert that you were hoping for?
  4. What do you think about the plan to sell Green Gables?
  5. Overall, how did you like the book?
  6. Do you have any plans to read the rest of the stories or more books by Montgomery after this?

Briana’s Answers

  1. I think this is one of those tricky areas in books where part of me wants the character to get everything. Of course I want Anne to be first on the pass list. Of course I want her to win all the awards. But part of me also thinks this might be a little too convenient or cliche. Does every character have to be the “most” special? I think Montgomery did some nice tempering here. Anne is very good, but she’s not necessarily a genius, and she does have some serious competition.
  2. I was about ten when I first read the book, but I think I was rather taken by surprise, even with the vague hints about Matthew’s heart and the banks.  If I’d thought more about it, I probably wouldn’t have expected a beloved major character to die off in the first book of a series. However, being ten, I didn’t know anything about the publication history of the novel. Montgomery thought it would be a stand-alone and said herself she wouldn’t have killed him that early if she’d known there would be more books.
  3. I always want a little more Gilbert than there is.😉 However, I think the resolution really fits Montgomery’s style, and I love that we get to see what a kind person Gilbert is, even to people who aren’t necessarily kind to him.
  4. After Matthew died, I think I could have believed Montgomery would do anything in this novel. Say good-bye to Green Gables, everyone!  Obviously I think the idea is heart-breaking, but it’s completely understandable decision on Marilla’s end.
  5. It’s still one of my favorite books. I’m stunned each time I reread it by just how it is, and how it continue to live up to my expectations.
  6. I’ve read the rest of the series previously, so I’m not going to embark on it right now. I have been reading some of Montgomery’s other books this summer, like Kilmeny of the Orchard and Emily of New Moon.


  1. Laura says:

    I’m gutted by Matthews death every time. In fact, on some rereads I just stop before we get there. He truly understood Anne and it’s so sad that she loses him. This is one of my all time favourite series. I’m thinking I should re-read the rest as its been a while since I’ve read past Anne of Avonlea and I’m curious how I’d find some of the other later events now that I’m older.


    • Krysta says:

      I always think about stopping before Matthew’s death, too. I never have, but sometimes I set the book aside for awhile so I can attempt to prepare myself. I end up sobbing every time.

      I’m rereading the Anne books now (I’m on the fifth one) and I’m finding I actually appreciate them a lot more now that I’m older. College/career woman/married Anne is far more interesting now that it’s more relatable.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. luvtoread says:

    The section that discusses Matthew’s death and Anne & Marilla’s grief is one of the best writings on grief that I’ve ever read. It accurately states the shock, the sorrow, and the guilt that one feels when a close family member has died. And it’s very short, just a few pages, but it is very real.
    Anne of Green Gables has been the best book I’ve read so far this year! I really love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Briana says:

      That’s true. I think Montgomery does do grief really well. There are similar scenes in some of her other books, and I think she’s really thoughtful about exploring the way different people react. Unfortunately that also means she drags all of us readers down into the sadness, too!😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    Totally agree with Ami about how grief is handled in the book – it’s perfectly written. That part was so sad. As a first-time reader, I totally wasn’t expecting it. I mean, it’s alluded to early on with his chest pain and such (although truthfully as a medical person, I was more worried that Marilla had some kind of terrible brain cancer with her eye pain and what not!), but I kept telling myself that this was a children’s book and nothing bad would happen. WRONG!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krysta says:

      I NEVER understand this! Why, Montgomery? Why? Everyone loves Matthew! He deserves better!

      His death is, I think, for me, the worst death in literature ever.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

