Top Ten Tuesday (133): Bookish Facts About Me

TTT starsTop Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week the topic is:

ten bookish facts about me

  1. I used to think Narnia was real.  However, since I had read The Last Battle, I could explain to you why you couldn’t get to it through the closet.
  2. I love The Divine Comedy and I think the Paradiso is the best.  I think it’s a shame everyone just reads the Inferno.
  3. I really like Renaissance drama.
  4. I generally don’t use bookmarks but, when I do, I think it’s funny to try to match the bookmark to the cover.
  5. I also thought Peter Pan was real and this scared me because I didn’t like anyone who went around looking into other people’s windows.
  6. I secretly like the Ella Enchanted movie even though it’s nothing like the book.
  7. I wish people would stop trying to make me watch suffer through the Hobbit movies just because I like Tolkien.
  8. I enjoy MG more than I enjoy YA.
  9. I read literary criticism for fun, but I tend to hide this so people don’t think I’m pretentious.
  10. I think books and cats go together.

Krysta 64

50 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (133): Bookish Facts About Me

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Do you like the LOtR movies? Confession… I have not seen the Hobbit movies, but I have seen the Lord Of the Rings movies a million billion times, and I have only read the books once. I love MG! I have only read The Inferno. Please don’t pinch me; ha ha. I haven’t read literary criticisms since college.. I didn’t mind it, but…😄


    • Krysta says:

      I do like the LotR movies! They have some problematic parts, but on the whole the spirit is much more faithful to the books. And, honestly, the films are best when they’re closest to the books. Not that I’m trying to be a purist or anything, but you can see in the Hobbit films that the parts copied mostly from Tolkien are the most tightly-written, do some of the best character development, etc. Then Peter Jackson comes in and it’s just extraneous fight scenes that don’t even make sense in that part of the story, cause the character development to act like a roller coaster, etc.


  2. Greg says:

    Cats and book do go together! And Narnia- wish it was real. That and Middle earth. I haven’t seen the Hobbit movies, I will one of these days but hearing about all the things that were done to stretch it in three movies… I just don’t know…


    • Krysta says:

      I tell myself that watching the Hobbit movies not in theatres at least has the benefit of allowing me to walk away. Yes, I do need to look in the refrigerator for a third time. Maybe something appeared in there that I actually want to eat. 😉


  3. AJ says:

    I’m just now getting into using actual bonafide bookmarks. I love the idea of matching bookmarks to their covers! Also those Hobbit movies were something else.

    Here’s my TTT


  4. Jamie Wu says:

    They should stop you from watching the Hobbit films if they know you’re a Tolkien fan! Hahaha. Books and cats definitely go together! And comfortable beds too.


  5. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Haha! You secretly like Ella Enchanted. The cat’s out of the bag now. 🙊 I also like that movie. I’ve seen it a bunch of times. I will admit I do like The Hobbit movies, but my reason is because of the cinematography.


  6. Penni says:

    Quite an interesting person, I must say. It was fun getting to know you and your quirks. I have many quirks so it’s nice to know others do too.


  7. Athena~ says:

    I love Narnia but I actually haven’t read any of the books… I should. Are they good?
    Cats go amazingly with books! It such a shame my cat is an outside cat… But people who take pictures of their books and cats together make it look soooo cool. Especially when they’re snuggled on your lap when reading (My old cat used to do that!)


    • Krysta says:

      I love the Narnia books! Voyage of the Dawn Treader is my favorite because I like seeing all the new places they discover.

      I’ve never had a lap cat. I think that would be nice, but maybe eventually I would want to move but I’d feel bad because I wouldn’t want to disturb the cat….

      I admit I follow some blogs just to see their cat photos.


  8. S. M. Pace says:

    Aww, I love the Ella Enchanted movie, though I loved the novel to. I kind of separate them in my head. Also equally disgusted with the Hobbit movies, though I do love Martin Freeman. Sigh.


  9. Sierra says:

    I LOVE the Ella Enchanted movie! I actually am one of those rare people that can treat the books and movies differently and enjoy it on its own merit😛. And I loved reading The Divine Comedy. My copy has become pretty battered over the years. This was a fun list!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

