Anne of Green Gables Read-Along

Here is the second set of discussion questions for our Anne of Green Gables read-along.  If you would like to sign up, you are free to do so at any point throughout the read-along. The sign-up post also has the schedule for the event, including discussion questions and other activities.

Feel free to answer the questions on your own blog and leave us a link in the comments, or just answer in the comments.  You can also answer the questions even if you are not officially reading with us.

The questions for chapters 21-29 will be posted next Sunday.  To tweet about the read-along, you can use the hashtag #readAnneShirley.

Discussion Questions

  1. What do you think of Anne’s confession to Marilla about losing her amethyst broach?
  2. We’re fully introduced to Gilbert Blythe in these chapters.  What do you think of him so far?  Would you have liked being teased or was Anne’s reaction understandable?
  3. How do you think Gilbert and Anne’s relationship will go from here? (If you’ve read the book before, do remember what you thought the first time you read it?)
  4. What do you think of Mrs. Barry’s reaction to Diana coming home drunk?  Who was at fault in the situation?
  5. Anne lets her imagination run away with her in the Haunted Wood! What do you think about imagining spooky things into your everyday life. Is this a bad decision?
  6. What has been your favorite scene in the book so far?

Briana’s Answers

  1.  In retrospect, the confession is pretty hilarious, and I feel bad for Anne that she felt if she confessed she wouldn’t be punished. Marilla does it sound that way, so Anne was a little bit tricked, though I think common sense and interaction with adults should have warned Anne that apologizing wouldn’t be enough.  I feel bad that Marilla wouldn’t believe the true story either, though she does try to make it up to Anne.
  2. As an introverted child, I think I would have simply been mortified to have been teased in school, regardless of the fact Gilbert does it to everyone. He does seem like a generally likable and sociable fellow anyway, though. I think I’d like to know him.
  3. I’ve read the book before! I can’t remember my initial prediction for their future interactions, but I think it’s wise to take Anne at her word when she says she doesn’t want to speak to anyone. I think I would have caved and been friends with Gilbert eventually though.
  4. I understand Mrs. Barry’s horror, but Marilla’s explanation should have cleared it up. I wouldn’t necessarily expect children to recognize alcohol if they’d never had it before. I am kind of surprised Diana liked it so much, though.
  5. I hate scary things. I would never intentionally imagine ghosts into my life. I do think it’s a bit harsh for adults to say Anne was “wrong” for doing so, however.
  6. Hard to say! I do link Anne whacking Gilbert over the head with her slate, though, and look forward to that every reread. It was kind of unwarranted, yet also really satisfying to watch. :p


    • Briana says:

      Right? I think a lot of kids (and just people new to alcohol) react pretty negatively to it the first time they have it. I can’t believe she just kept drinking it, even if there wasn’t much in the wine!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Krysta says:

    Anne cracking a slate over Gilbert’s head is one of my favorite parts. I don’t know why. I guess because it was so unexpected and no one got hurt (except the slate).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La La in the Library says:

    My favorite part was when The doctor was giving Anne high praise for saving Minnie May’s life. Back then cordials, even the medicinal ones, usually had a small amount of alcohol in it. I remember my great aunt and grandmother talking about it, so I think because it was watered down wine it may have had a similar bite to it. Didn’t Marilla say if Diana had drank that many tumblers of cordial it would have been nearly the same effect? I am not sure. I will have to go back and look. I will be finished soon I am on chapter 30. I cannot help myself.😀


    • Briana says:

      That’s really interesting! I’ve never known what cordial was and always had this vague sense I was missing out on something fantastic because Anne and Diana were so excited about it. :p True! Marilla did think she at least would have gotten sick off it! But I still kind of want some…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sierra says:

    Oh man, you’re really making me want to re-read Anne of Green Gables and join in on all the discussion fun! Hopefully I will get through some of my review backlog this week and can celebrate with some Anne Shirley🙂


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

