Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Discussion 1 (Chpt. 1-10)

Anne Read-Along 2

Introduction

Here are the first set of discussion questions for our Anne of Green Gables read-along.  If you would like to sign up, you are free to do so at any point throughout the read-along. The sign-up post also has the schedule for the event, including discussion questions and other activities.

Feel free to answer the questions on your own blog and leave us a link in the comments, or just answer in the comments.

The questions for chapters 11-20 will be posted next Sunday.  To tweet about the read-along, you can use the hashtag #readAnneShirley.

The Questions

  1. How are you liking the book so far?  What has been your favorite part in these first ten chapters?
  2. What do you think of Anne’s knack for naming things?  What is your favorite name in the book so far?
  3. Whose parenting style do you think makes more sense, Marilla’s or Matthew’s?
  4. In Chapter 9, was Mrs. Lynde or Anne in the wrong?
  5. If you met Anne, what would you think of her? Would you be kindred spirits?

Briana’s Answers

  1. Every time I start reading this book, it’s magical. The prose is so beautiful, and Montgomery really helps readers get into the minds of all the characters.  I’m impresed by how fresh the story seems, even though I must have read it fifteen times.  So it’s hard for me to pick a favorite scene, but I do really love the part where Anne and Matthew drive home to Green Gables.
  2. I wish I had such a penchant for lovely names!  One of my favorite is actually the Dryad’s Bubble, but that’s later.  In these chapters, I really like the White Way of Delight. I can really envision that, and all the trees in their bridal beauty.
  3. Maybe this is a cop-out answer, but the combination of both seems just right. Anne really does need some actual bringing up, which Marilla provides, but she’s also someone who responds so well to kindness from people like Matthew.
  4. If Anne hadn’t gone over the top and called Mrs. Lynde fat and clumsy and without imagination, I might be almost entirely on her side. Mrs. Lynde definitely had no business calling Anne ugly, especially to her face, so I can’t blame Anne for blowing up and calling her a ‘rude, impolite, unfeeling,” woman, regardless of how unladylike such a tantrum might be. However, since she goes on to insult Mrs. Lynde’s appearance in turn, I think they both messed up, and I appreciate that Marilla was willing to tell Mrs. Lynde she was wrong, even if she also made Anne apologize.
  5. Part of me thinks I would be somewhat overwhelmed by Anne, but she also seems like the type of person who can make basically anyone like her..  I would love her imagination and spunk, and she really is very kind at heart.  I would love to be her “bosom friend.”

5 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Discussion 1 (Chpt. 1-10)

  1. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    1. How are you liking the book so far? By this point I had completely jumped on the Anne train – I was completely loving her character and the book in general!
    2. What has been your favorite part in these first ten chapters? I think my favorite in these first 10 chapters is how much Matthew is softening to her. It makes my heart melt (:
    3. What do you think of Anne’s knack for naming things? It’s hilarious.
    4. What is your favorite name in the book so far? Marilla. Mostly because my audiobook narrator said “Marilla” in Anne’s voice just perfect!
    5. Whose parenting style do you think makes more sense, Marilla’s or Matthew’s? I think they are the perfect mix! Marilla is too harsh and possibly Matthew is too soft (though he doesn’t play as big of a role in her upbringing to me), so I think ultimately their mix is perfect.
    6. In Chapter 9, was Mrs. Lynde or Anne in the wrong? They both were! Mrs. Lynde shouldn’t have said what she did, but Anne shouldn’t have been so incredibly rude back!
    7. If you met Anne, what would you think of her? Would you be kindred spirits? If it was me at 27 and her at 10/11 or whatever she is, I would absolutely LOVE her. But if we were the same age, I don’t know how I’d feel about her!

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      Oh, I love Matthew! He’s my favorite character!

      And I wish I could name things! Anne seems to name things because she’s connected to them. I can look at a tree-lined road and see it’s beautiful, but I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to name it.

      Like

    • Briana says:

      I think I might have been a little weirded out by Anne if I met her at eleven, too. On one hand, she seems really likable and friendly, and the book seems to emphasize that she’s liked by her classmates in general, but I was pretty introverted at eleven, so I’m not sure how I would have dealt with someone so outspoken!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

