The Anne of Green Gables Book Tag

Anne Read-Along 2

To get the Anne of Green Gables read-along started, I created an Anne of Green Gables Book Tag!  I’m not officially tagging anyone, but feel free to participate if you want. You don’t have to be participating in the read-along either.

The Reader Is Surprised

Name a book that kept you guessing or had a surprising ending (not too many spoilers, please!)

I was surprised by literally every book in the first Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. I also was kept on my toes by The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen.

The Delights of Anticipation

Name a book you are looking forward to being released.

I am very much looking forward to seeing how the A Court of Thorns and Roses series ends, but I’ll be waiting awhile for that!  I also am waiting for Wizardmatch by Lauren Magaziner, also being released in 2017.

A Good Imagination Gone Wrong

Name a book that has a great premise but you still didn’t love.

I come across a lot of books I think are good in theory but don’t live up to their premises in actual execution.  Most recently, that was The Glittering Court. Sure, the whole “pretty dress” book thing isn’t new, but I thought Mead actually could put an interesting spin on it, and I was sort of into the pseudo-American colonies world. However, in reality, I liked basically nothing about the book.

A New Departure in Flavorings

Name a book in you enjoyed in a genre you normally don’t read.

Sister Carrie by Theodore Dreiser. Technically, the genre is “classic” and I actually read a lot of those. However, I don’t necessarily read a lot of American classics, and I’m not usually a fan of books with adultery and other such unsavory immoral behavior.😉 (Note my extreme dislike of Ethan Frome.)  However, Sister Carrie is interesting, and even though Carrie undoubtedly makes some questionable life decisions, I thought I could actually understand why she was making them.

An Epoch in the Reader’s Life

Name a book you feel has been really influential in your life.

Definitely The Lord of the Rings. My interest in medieval literature is attributable in large part to Tolkien. My undergrad thesis was on a medieval romance, and much of my work in grad school is on medieval literature, as well.

The Reaper Whose Name Is Death

Name a book with a tragic death (again, not too many spoilers, please!)

I get hit by the ending of Charlotte’s Web every time, even though I know it’s coming.  Also, Dobby, Sirius, and Hedwig in Harry Potter!

9 thoughts on “The Anne of Green Gables Book Tag

  1. Sierra says:

    I ADORED The False Prince! I loved Sage’s humor. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the second book at all, and never picked up the third.
    This is a wonderful tag! I wish I had time to re-read Anne of Green Gables with you guys! Too many ARCs and library books to get through, lol.


    • Briana says:

      The first one is definitely the best. I think it’s really hard for writers to maintain clever characters over a series, but I think Nielsen did a much better job with Sage over books 2 and 3 than I might have expected, so I was rather pleased with them.

      I know! So many books in the world to read!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

