Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Starting Line

Anne Read-Along 2


Today is the official start of the Anne of Green Gables Read-Along here at Pages Unbound. You can sign-up at any point through the read-along, so go here if you’d like to do that.  You can also tweet about the read-along using our hashtag, #readAnneShirley.

The discussions questions for Chapters 1-10 will be posted next Sunday. Today, however, I have some preliminary questions for our participants.  Feel free to answer the questions on your own blog and leave us a link in the comments, or you can just answer the questions in the comments here.

The Questions

  1. Is this your first time reading Anne of Green Gables, or is this a reread for you?
  2. Why have you decided to join the read-along (why do you want to read or rearead Anne)?
  3. Have you read any other books by L.M. Montgomery?  What did you think?
  4. Have you seen any movie/TV/play adaptations of Anne? Did you enjoy them?
  5. Have you ever been to Prince Edward Island? Do you want to visit?

Briana’s Answers

  1. I’ve read Anne of Green Gables more times than I’ve even counted.  It’s one of my favorite books, and I went through a face around fifth grade where I would read it and just start reading it again when I was done. Don’t judge.
  2. I love rereading Anne once in awhile, and I wanted to share the experience with others, so here I am!
  3. I’ve read most of Montgomery’s books I can get my hands on.  Some of the short story collections are hard to obtain.  There are reviews on the blog of some of her other books, for those interested, but I’d recommend basically all of her novels.😀
  4. I love the Megan Follows movie!  The second two movies diverge pretty weirdly from the book series, so I’m a little more skeptical of them, but they still have great actors.
  5. No, but it’s one of my life goals to visit! It sounds so beautiful!

Happy reading, everyone!

9 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Starting Line

  1. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    1. This is my first time reading it!
    2. I’ve had the book on my shelves for a while, and I HATE having books on my shelf I haven’t read. When I saw that you were doing a read-along I had to join it!
    3. Definitely haven’t read any other books by the author (:
    4. I haven’t see any other adaptations of this book!
    5. I haven’t been to PEI, but I have a number of friends there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krysta says:

      It’s exciting it’s your first time! Sometimes I wish I could read books for the first time over again!

      And it’s cool you have friends in PEI! It looks so beautiful–I’m sure they’re very lucky!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Briana says:

      I’m so glad you joined!

      I’ve come to tolerate all my unread books because otherwise I’d go insane! I’m just always picking up more!

      And if I had friends on PEI I’d be trying to crash their homes all the time. Although I looked up the travel fare once and it’s not the cheapest place to get to.😦

      Liked by 2 people

  2. La La in the Library says:

    1. Second time. I read it for the first time around 2000.
    2. I remembered it being a comforting read and I need that right now.
    3. I have only read the first three Anne books.
    4. I saw the PBS mini series, I am guessing now it was the movie cut up into shorter parts? I am really confused about this. Maybe we could discuss it at some point? I tried to watch the cartoon series that was on PBS, but I didn’t care for it.
    5. I would LOVE to visit Prince Edward Island! It is a bucket list travel destination, for sure. ☺


    • Briana says:

      The first three Anne books are probably my favorite anyway, so no problem there! Though I thought it’d be kind of weird to read about her as a woman with children, but it really wasn’t at all.

      Interesting. All I’ve found in the PBS shop is the movie (and two sequels) collected into a box-set. Perhaps they did run it as a miniseries at some point!

      Liked by 1 person

      • La La in the Library says:

        Since I commented above I was talking to my sister and she said I read the first three books to her as chapter (or two) a night books when she was ten years old and that would have been 1983. Ha ha, so I guess I was a little off on the first read date.😄


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

