How to Find a Great Co-Blogger

Discussion Post Stars

Why You Might Want a Co-Blogger

I’ve been speculating for a while that the future of book blogging may be co-blogging. As “successful” book bloggers are expected to take on increasing responsibilities, from keeping up with bookish news to taking their own photos to running multiple social media accounts, I think bloggers who want to try to make it “big” in our corner of the Internet may find themselves wanting co-bloggers to keep up with the tasks.

Many of us are reluctant to take on co-bloggers, either due to a simple desire to maintain independence in blogging or due to hearing horror stories of other people’s co-bloggers that didn’t quite work out.  (Pages Unbound actually had two former co-bloggers who just disappeared without a word. One never even posted anything beyond her introduction post.)

However, it is possible to find a co-blogger who will work with you, not against you (or just not work at all).  So if you’re ready to take the plunge and want to set up an application for a co-blogger, there are just a few things you need to ask applicants to make sure you’ll be on the same page as co-bloggers..

What Do You Need in a Co-Blogger?

The first thing you need to determine is exactly what you want a co-blogger to do.  Think of this as an official job opening.  The position should have a job description that that tells applicants what type of experience you want your co-blogger to have already and what duties you expect them to perform.  Don’t just ask someone to “join your blog” without telling them what you mean by that or without knowing yourself what you mean by the request.  Are you going to be equal partners?  Or will you be still be “in charge” of the blog?  Are you asking the co-blogger simply to write content for the blog, or do you want them to help with other tasks?  Think about adding the four questions below to your co-blogger application process to make sure you get the co-blogger you want.

Update: If you are looking for a co-blogger, Stephanie from Rantings, Ravings, and Ramblings has put together an application to help match bloggers up! Check it out here!

Co-blogging (1)-min

10 thoughts on “How to Find a Great Co-Blogger

  1. Ellen @ Quest Reviews says:

    Prepare yourself for another MASSIVE discussion post! I can see it happening today, again!

    All of the points you make are really good ones. Especially the questions you should ask a potential co-blogger. I can see how easy it would be to just take someone on, bam presto, and how the relationship would fizzle without proper communication.

    I must say, I loved your infographic! I’ve been getting a bit crazy with graphics myself lately, and I’m starting to perk up and take notice when other bloggers use them. Did you use Canva? Photoshop?


    • Briana says:

      I’m still surprised this has been such a popular topic! This post is still getting a lot of views, but I’m kind of grateful the comments have slowed a little! It took me awhile to catch up on them yesterday! :p

      Thank you! I used Canva for this one. I think it was originally an infographic about biking safety. so I removed all the bike stuff and just added a pencil. I wish I knew how to use Photoshop, but it’s not really in my budget right now!


  2. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    How did I miss this one? I’ve been so all over the place lately. I love your infographic. I signed up for this site that you pay quarterly and completely regretted it when I found out I could use Canva. I would love a co-blogger. But it might be hard to find someone who matches my personality, style, and work ethic. I was thinking about doing a fun post about finding a co-blogger to see if anyone wants to pair up on a trial basis to see how we mesh. I think a lot of bloggers seem to think of blogging as their independence, but I don’t see why I couldn’t share some of that with another person. It would really help to lighten the load with all of the things I cram into my schedule. Good idea and nice post!


  3. Alise (Readers in Wonderland) says:

    Great post! I was lucky enough to find a co-blogger that was very similar to me and we get along swimmingly, messaging each other about life in general every day. On the other hand, I’ve tried out three or four other bloggers who left probably after a month – of not doing much, I might add. I think it’s important to tell them exactly what you expect from them,


    • Briana says:

      Yes, we had two co-bloggers who just mysteriously disappeared, as well. It think that’s better than having a bad relationship with a co-blogger who sticks around, but it’s still pretty annoying to THINK you have a co-blogger and then end up not having one a month later.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

