Top Ten Tuesday (129): Books I Picked up on a Whim

TTT starsTop Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week is about the books I found and read without seeing a review or recommendation first.

  1. Here, There Be Dragons by James A. Owen: The mysterious death of a professor draws together three strangers from Oxford, John, Jack, and Charles.  Informed by a friend of the professor’s that they are now the Caretakers of an atlas of imaginary lands called the Imaginarium Geographic, the three set sail for the Archipelago of Dreams, where all the places of myth and literature exist.
  2. 100 Cupboards by N. D. Wilson: A boy discovers portals to other worlds in his room.
  3. The Chosen by Chaim Potok: The modern classic of two Jewish boys growing up.
  4. Lost in the Sun by Lisa GraffSeven months ago Trent accidentally killed a boy. How can he start over?
  5. A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd: Magic used to flow throughout the town of Midnight Gulch.  When twelve-year-old Felicity Pickle arrives, she hopes that enough magic remains to cure her mother of her wandering heart
  6. The Night Gardener by Jonathan AuxierOrphans Molly and Kip arrive at an old English estate to take up their new jobs as servants.  But someone walks the house at night and the family all seem to be rapidly losing their health.  Can Molly and Kip break an ancient curse or will they become the latest casualties of the night man?
  7. The Thickety: A Path Begins by J. A. White:  When Kara discovers a book of spells she must decide if she will exact revenge on the people who have wronged her or risk everything to save them.
  8. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne ValenteOne day the Green Wind catches up September and takes her to Fairyland where the Marquess has stolen the spoon the witches use to see the future.  September agrees to travel to the capital and retrieve the spoon, but somewhere along the way she realizes that her quest has grown bigger than she anticipated.
  9. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart: Four children take on an evil genius.
  10. Mr. Midshipman Hornblower by C. S. Forester: Seventeen-year-old Horatio Hornblower embarks on his first naval adventure as England anticipates war with France.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (129): Books I Picked up on a Whim

  1. Jamie Wu says:

    I’ve forgotten that Here, There Be Dragons exist. I haven’t read it yet, but I heard the characters were based on famous authors. Need to add it to my TBR to make sure I remember to read it.


    • Krysta says:

      I love Hornblower so much but every time I say that someone just directs me to Master and Commander. I’m sure that’s good, too, but I am not replacing my beloved Hornblower!!


  2. saraletourneau says:

    I haven’t read any of these books. *lol* But I do want to read Here There Be Dragons after reading the review that was posted here. (I forget which one of you wrote it… )

    The last book I picked up on a whim was Kiera Cass’s The Siren. The romance didn’t do much for me, but the siren mythology and the friendships between the protagonist and her “siren sisters” were wonderful.


    • Krysta says:

      I wrote it. The new theme got rid of our bylines and we haven’t added them all to the old posts. :/ But I do think that if you are a Tolkien fan you will enjoy it!

      I haven’t heard of that one! I’m so behind on the book market this year. Oh well, that just means I have lots of great things to read in the future as I catch up.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Auggie says:

    Aw! I love love loved “A Snicker of Magic”! And I’ve been wanting to read “The Night Gardener” as well, but haven’t picked it up yet. Hope you enjoyed your whim reads!

    My TTT


    • Krysta says:

      I saw someone bought the movie rights to The Night Gardener, so I’m glad I read the book or else I might not have known to keep an eye out for the release!


  4. La La in the Library says:

    I loved The Thickety! I also have the first three Fairyland ebooks (another one of my bundle special finds). I bought the Fairyland short story and adored it, so I was thrilled to stumble across the deal. I love the cover art so much that I have been collecting the hardcovers. When my Better World Books order arives this week I will have three of the five. Great list. There are a couple I am going to be adding to Goodreads.🙂


    • Krysta says:

      Yay! Another Thickety fan! I just saw the last one is out so hopefully I’ll find time to read it this summer. There are so many books and so little time! And the Fairyland covers ARE gorgeous!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

