Slumps Are for Chumps Book Tag

Slumps Tag

Thank you to Britt at Geronimo Reads for tagging me! I’m not going to tag other people because I never know who to choose, but I do want to answer the questions!

Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

I DNF very few books, but I just couldn’t get into this one. Something about the writing style and the lackluster characters and plot made me put it down before I got very far.

Which book is your guilty pleasure?

I don’t think I have an answer for this question. I’ll proudly own up to anything I read and enjoy!

Which book do you love to hate?

The SelectionThe Selection by Kiera Cass

I’m sorry. I know there are people who like the series, but the books are just too easy to hate on.  None of it makes sense, and the protagonist. America, is really ditzy. There is absolutely no way I would want her in charge of my country.

Which book would you throw into the sea?

Morning Is a Long Time Coming by Bette Greene

You’d think the sequel to Summer of My German Solider would be good. You’d be wrong.  This book is depressing and frustrating and sticks in my mind of one of the worst things I’ve read. I can see why most people don’t even know it exists.

Which book have you read the most?

Anne of Green GablesAnne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

I haven’t been officially keeping count, but I read this half a gazilliion times as a child.  I went through a period where I’d read it and then just start over again when I was done.  I also still reread it occasionally, and it always lives up to my expectations.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale

This doesn’t sound like a book I would like in the first place.  I never had any intention of reading it, though I do think the sweater-like cover is very creative. However, the controversy surrounding Hale after she stalked a blogger ensures my interest is at 0%.

Which book could you not live without?

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

This book was very influential in my life, getting me interested in everything from high fantasy to Anglo-Saxon and Middle English literature.

Which book made you the angriest?

The Boyfriend AppThe Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

I thought this would be a fun and inspirational book about a girl good with programming and other techy things.  What I got was a book that tacitly condones sexual assault and other questionable behavior.  I don’t know how this got past a literary agent and editors, and everyone thought it was a good idea.  It did get a sequel, though!

Which Book Made You Cry the Most?

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

It doesn’t matter how may times I read it; I cry every time.

Which Book Cover Do You Like the Most?

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray book cover

6 thoughts on “Slumps Are for Chumps Book Tag

  1. Erin says:

    I’m completely with you on reading “Anne of Green Gables” a bunch of times as a kid. Anne is a fun character and I couldn’t get enough. Last week, I rewatched the 80’s movie with Megan Follows.

    The Claudia Gray cover is very pretty.


  2. Kate @Midnight Book Girl says:

    I love Anne of Green Gables, but my go to re-read when it comes to LM Montgomery is A Tangled Web, I love that book to pieces. Literally, I’m on my second copy. But I did get the loveliest Anne of Green Gables scarf through Uppercase book subscription the other month. I even ordered a second one for my friend Courtney, who has a friend who is actually from Prince Edward Island (who is still talking to Courtney, even after Courtney screamed in excitement and shouted “Like Anne of Green Gables!!” at her in their first meeting).


    • Krysta says:

      I love A Tangled Web! No one ever seems to have read it, though! Now I’m so excited! Gay Penhallow’s story was always my favorite. 😀


    • Briana says:

      A Tangled Web is great too! I think it’s one of Montgomery’s overlooked books.

      I’d love an Anne of Green Gables scarf! Where is it from?


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

