Tolkien Talk: Seraphina from Seraphina Reads

Tolkien Event 2016

As part of our Tolkien Reading Celebration, we’ll be interviewing different bloggers about their love for Tolkien and what makes his works so special for them.

Nevey (Seraphina) blogs at Seraphina Reads.

Tell us about yourself! How did you come to love Tolkien and what do you enjoy reading about his works?

I am Neveen (Pen name: Seraphina), a 28-year-old girl who is a math teacher by day and a Tolkienist for the rest of the day. I came to Tolkien not by the books –unfortunately- but by the films; I remember being 13 when I saw the poster for The Fellowship of the Ring. I was so excited to watch it. I was so excited to explore that fantasy because living in Egypt and not having a Tolkien fan or even a chance to learn about the man who inspired modern fantasy is like living inside a cage, but finally I learnt about him thanks to Peter Jackson and to the local newspapers that had full-sized pages with the film posters, which I kept on my wall. Unlike other teens, who had posters of bands, I had Lord of the Rings.

When I turned 17, I was finally allowed to explore the world on my own.  So I took upon myself to buy myself The Lord of the Rings, and that’s when I learnt it’ s not about the trilogy but more books and many volumes. Out of excitement my journey began. Reading the rings spell for the first time brought tears to me; I could not believe that I was holding a book with all of this grace. Tolkien’s words felt like they had been only written to me. So pure and profound; that’s my true beginning with Tolkien.

What’s one thing you learned from Tolkien you think everyone else should know?

It’s not something about the novel itself but about the world building and how it took him 12 years to finish The Lord of the Rings and the deep secret about why the Fellowship is 9 not more and not less.

Tell us about one of your favorite passages or scenes.

“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.
“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

“We have to decide what to do with the time that is given to us.”

It’s one of the deepest lines in literature.  It has always inspired me and always will. I never gave up on living because of this line. I always see hope and brightness because of Tolkien.

Do you have any Tolkien confessions?

My confession would be that I watched the movies first .  Also I used to turn guys down when I knew they were not Tolkien fans:  “Never trust a man who never knew Tolkien.” That was until my perfect man turned to be not a fan of Tolkien, but he has respect for all my madness.

If you could visit any place in Middle Earth, where would you go?

I would have a full tour but rest forever in Lothlórien.



4 thoughts on “Tolkien Talk: Seraphina from Seraphina Reads

  1. Greg says:

    It’s always nice to see other peoples experiences with Tolkien. I agree about the world building and the time it took for him to put LotR together- so amazing. And I love that cover of The Two Towers in your pic- those were the covers on the old paperbacks I first read, so I have a sentimental attachment to them.🙂

    Lothlorien would be awesome. Even though it’s close to the action it has such a haven feeling, a timelessness to it. Plus Galadriel and Celeborn!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. saraletourneau says:

    Great interview! And nice to get to know you, Neveen.🙂

    Love your choice of quote – it’s one of my favorites, too. Also, I’m with you on the full-blown tour of Middle-Earth. As much as we might have a favorite place to visit, seeing only that one wouldn’t do!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joannechillhouse says:

    I could hear her voice while reading this. I suspect it has to do with how passionately and reverently she speaks of Tolkien. Hats off to Peter Jackson as well: this is the second of these interviews I’ve read and in both cases the interviewee came to Tolkien via the films. It’s a rare thing to discover the film first and for the film to be so seductive that you want to know more of the world it rendered with such respect for the source material. And for both in spite of their relationship to each other to work well separately as great works of art.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

