Top Ten Tuesday (126): Books I Need to Talk about More

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

  • Anne of Green Gables  by L. M. Montgomery: Ok, I mention loving this book a lot, but I’m not sure I advocate for it very often.  I also think I should talk about Montgomery’s other books more (even though, uh, we did have that whole L.M. Montgomery event once…)
  • The Chosen by Chaim Potok: Potok is one of my favorite authors, and I absolutely loved this book. However, I never reviewed it for the blog.
  • Villette by Charlotte Bronte: Ok, ok. We had that whole Bronte event, too.  But I think Jane Eyre gets all the attention and we should be talking about some other books  here.
  • Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by Anonymous (Or, the Gawain Poet): I love medieval literature but don’t talk about it too much on the blog because, you know, not a big draw.  However, this is a seriously good story (and Tolkien has a great translation!), and I think a lot of people would enjoy it.
  • Princess Academy by Shannon Hale: Between us, Krysta and I have probably reviewed everything Shannon Hale has written.  However, I think I could talk about the gloriousness of her YA books a lot more often.
  • Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce:  I hadn’t reviewed any Tamora Pierce  on the blog until just a couple months ago, and then I did the Protector of the Small series. Yet Pierce was one of my favorite childhood authors and very influential in my love of fantasy.
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine: Again, one of the most influential authors I read during my childhood, but she’s been a little overlooked here at Pages Unbound. (Though we did review A Tale of Two Castles.)
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart: One of the cleverest and most fun books I’ve read, it’s a hit even with people who don’t normally read middle grade. I wish I could recommend it more.
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: This book probably doesn’t need any more advocates, but I’m going to put forth my love for it anyway.
  • The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien: I talk about my love for Tolkien all the time. (I mean, we’re running a two-week Tolkien event right now), but I haven’t talked a lot about The Silmarillion, and I definitely need to re-read it sometime.
38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (126): Books I Need to Talk about More

    • Briana says:

      I haven’t read some of Pierce’s most recent books, but I’ve read most of what she’s written! I’d actually love to see her create a world besides Emelan and Tortall, but I don’t think she has any current plans to do that.

      Like

  1. Ali says:

    There are some fantastic books on this list. I read all of the Anna Green Gables books when I was a kid. Loved them so much, mainly because the TV show.

    Like

    • Briana says:

      Yes! One of my favorite classics! I haven’t read Go Set a Watchman yet because the reviews were lukewarm, and I don’t want to ruin my love of Harper Lee.

      Like

  2. Greg says:

    I’ve read a few of Shannon Hale’s YA books and I do enjoy her stuff. And The Silmarillion is great, so much info, although it’s been years since I’ve read it.

    Like

    • Briana says:

      I think Hale does young adult best. Her books for younger readers have been less interesting to me, so I’d love to see her do more along the line of The Goose Girl and Princess Academy.

      Like

  3. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    Oh yess I remember loving The Mysterious Benedict Society! I think I read one of the sequels…but it wasn’t as memorable as the first book, I think :S
    Anyway yeah, I don’t usually think about The Mysterious Benedict Society, but it is sosososo awesome! 😀

    Like

  4. bftreviews says:

    Princess Academy has been on my TBR for a while. I’m glad someone is giving it a good rating! It makes me want to read it more 🙂 Also I really need to finish the Anne of green Gables series! They’re great books! Nice list! 🙂
    My TTT

    Like

  5. ThePerspicaciousReader says:

    These are some great books, as well as some that I’m now interested in picking up! I debated about putting To Kill a Moockingbird on my list; it didn’t make it, but I had to leave so many of my bookloves out unfortunately. Great list; thanks so much for sharing. My TTT.

    Like

    • Briana says:

      I debated about it, too. Like “Everyone knows about To Kill a Mockingbird, so do I have to list it?” That’s probably the reason I don’t talk about it that much. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lianne @ eclectictales.com says:

    Yay for the Silmarillion! I should’ve added that book on the list; I love it, but yeah, I don’t talk about it as much, maybe because I don’t recommend it to first-time Tolkien readers xD I’ve only read Tamora Pierce’s The Circle of Magic when I was growing up but I greatly enjoyed that quartet 🙂 Great list!

    My TTT

    Like

  7. saraletourneau says:

    I need to finish the Song of the Lioness Quartet. I was a “bad reader” and got the last book (Lioness Rampant) first, just for the sake of reading one of Tamora’s books. (*blushes*) But I read Alanna: The First Adventure last year, and now have the two middle books, so I’m looking forward to finishing the series and then reading more of Tamora Pierce’s work.

    Like

  8. Dani Marshall says:

    I loved Tamora Pierce when I was younger. I started with Wild Magic and read a handful of the others in the same setting but I’ve always wanted to go back and read them all again. No time like the present I suppose! Great list. All really awesome choices 🙂

    Like

  9. Bri says:

    Sir Gawain and the Green Knight is one of those stories I was forced to read in college and I thought would hate and ended up loving. I had no clue Tolkien did a translation of it so I’m going to have to go look that up later 🙂

    Like

    • Briana says:

      He did! It’s also considered a very good translation and cited by a lot of scholars when they talk about the poem. I think sometimes people remember Tolkien was a medievalist but don’t realize he was actually a well-respected one, too. A lot of his scholarship has been very influential.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Lois says:

    I’ve yet to read The Silmarillion but I do love any chance to get my hands on a Tolkien book haha. I think the hardest thing is picking which edition of his books to go for. 😛
    To Kill a Mockingbrid will always be one of my all time favourites.

    Like

  11. Geronimo Reads says:

    To Kill a Mockingbird is my favorite book. Love it!! I have desperately been wanting to read Anne of Green Gables for a while now. I need to get around to it. I just recently got Ella Enchanted at a thrift store last month, so need to get to that one too! Will definitely be checking out the ones I haven’t heard of it before!

    Like

  12. annika (@hidingbooks) says:

    I really need to read Villette! Oh my gosh, and Anne ❤ I really want to reread all the books!
    I have to confess I couldn't make it through Silmarillion… But in my defence, I think I was 12! Maybe it's time to try again? 😉
    Some interesting new picks in this post for me! Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

