Top Ten Tuesday (124): Recent Books I Enjoyed That Weren’t My Genre

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

TOP TEN books I enjoyed that weren’t my genre

  1. Jazz by Toni Morrison: I confess this is the first book of hers that I have enjoyed.
  2. The Adventures of Master F. J. by George Gascoigne: An early modern novel about a man’s affair with a married woman.
  3. Captain Marvel by Kelly Sue Deconnick: Ms. Marvel got me into comics, a little.
  4. Lost in the Sun by Lisa Graff: I don’t read too much contemporary, though I do read some contemporary MG.  This is a fine one.
  5. The Arrival by Shaun Tan: A graphic novel about an immigrant in a new land.
  6. The Pirate Princess by Jeremy Whitley: The third installment in a series about a princess saving her sisters.
  7. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel: About the rise of Cromwell.
  8. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed: A contemporary YA about forced marriage.
  9. Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente: I tend to be selective about adult fantasy.
  10. Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff: A contemporary MG about a boy who likes doughnuts.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (124): Recent Books I Enjoyed That Weren’t My Genre

  1. saraletourneau says:

    I’d just read another blog’s Top 10 for this topic, and it got me thinking about my own. It’s not quite ten books long, but these are my most recent “out of our comfort zone” reads that I enjoyed:

    – The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie (currently reading this – YA science fiction with an LGBT slant, genetically engineered sea monsters, and pirates, and it’s SO COOL!)
    – The Martian by Andy Weir (I don’t read much science fiction, but I freaking loved this)
    – Blue Voyage by Diana Renn (YA travel mystery set in Turkey, well researched)
    – This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee (YA historical steampunk that reimagines the story of Frankenstein, probably my biggest reading surprise of last year and one of my favorites of 2015)
    – The Violinist of Venice by Alyssa Palombo (I don’t typically read historical romance, but a friend wrote this book and I loved the music aspects and enjoyed this very much)
    – Tehran Moonlight by Azin Sametipour (set in current-day Iran, a young woman is caught between her culture’s strict traditions and following her heart in terms of career and relationships)
    – The Distance Between Lost and Found by Kathryn Holmes (YA contemporary with a slight faith / Christian influence, but a beautiful and suspenseful story about three campers who get lost in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee)


    • Krysta says:

      I haven’t heard of most of these before! Now I a bunch of stuff to add to my TBR pile. I would like to get around to The Martian sometime; my friend told it’s good!

      Liked by 1 person

      • saraletourneau says:

        Nice! I hope you enjoy those books if/when you get around to them.🙂

        The Martian was SO GOOD! I actually saw the movie first (*blushes*), but it made me want to read the book. Now I’m glad I did, because I enjoyed the book just as much and can now say what a faithful adaptation the film was. It especially captures the protagonist’s personality perfectly.


  2. Annika says:

    Love these top ten Tuesday posts!
    I really want to read Deathless, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I have In the Night Garden by Valente on my shelf waiting to be read. All of your picks sound pretty interesting, although not the kind of books I’d pick.. But if you enjoyed them I guess I might too🙂


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

