Top Ten Tuesday (122): Historical Settings

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

TOP TEN HIstorical Settings

  1. The American Civil War: Addresses issues still relevant today.
  2. Renaissance Italy: Florence, especially.
  3. Renaissance England: The age of Shakespeare!
  4. The War of 1812: I haven’t read many set during this somewhat obscure war!
  5. The Napoleonic Wars: I do love Hornblower!
  6. The French Revolution: Because of The Scarlet Pimpernel.
  7. The 1940s: Big band and swing music!
  8. The Middle Ages: Cathedrals! Illuminated manuscripts!
  9. The Oregon Trail: I don’t think I’ve read a book set on it.  But I would.
  10. Victorian London: Dickens!

Krysta 64

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (122): Historical Settings

  1. Lianne @ says:

    Love your list Krysta! Yay for Renaissance Italy & England, Victorian London, and the Middle Ages! I don’t read a lot of historical fiction set in the US/Canada, but now that I think about it, no title comes to mind of a historical fiction piece set during the War of 1812. Interesting…And funny, I listed French history on my list except Revolutionary France :3

    My TTT


    • Krysta says:

      My familiarity with Canadian history or literature is sadly very small. I wouldn’t really know what time period to choose if I wanted to sit down with a historical fiction set in Canada…

      I suppose so much literature is set during Revolutionary France that seeing a different time period would be quite refreshing!


  2. Briana says:

    I love how your first thought of the Middle Ages is cathedrals and illuminated manuscripts. I’m pretty sure just about anyone else would have said something about knights. :p


  3. Lois says:

    The Middle Ages is possibly my favourite historic period. Just getting to explore the cultural beliefs of that time and understanding how they helped shape out current society is so fascinating. Plus there are so many dramatic and tragic events in this period and plenty I’d like to see explored in books.😀


  4. Greg Hill says:

    Renaissance Italy, the 40’s, Middle ages- i like al of these but especially those. And the westward expansion too- haven’t seen much of that but would love to. Great list!


  5. Jade @ Bedtime Bookworm says:

    These are all great time periods! I don’t know if you enjoy fantasy of the top of my head, but Naomi Novik has a dragon series that is set in the Napoleonic wars (so it’s like an alternate history but fantasy!) that I loved! I’ve only actually read the first three though, i think it’s up to 6 now. I would love to read more books about the Oregon trail too! Oooh, and colonial america would be awesome too. Damn, I didn’t do this TTT topic but now I wish I had haha.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

