Top Ten Tuesday (119): Book and Blog Resolutions

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

TOP TEN Resolutions for 2016

  1. Increase my Pinterest use and traffic from Pinterest.  Since Facebook changed its algorithms, we’ve gotten more referrals from Pinterest than from Facebook.  I’d like to take advantage of that in 2016.
  2. Make more pin-able blog graphics.  I like having general graphics (such as a banner that reads simply “Discussion Post”) because they save me time and allow me to focus on writing content for the blog–which is what I really love.  However, more specific graphics are better for sharing on social media.
  3. Review more classics.  I have a tendency not to read classics while I’m in school because contemporary novels seems like more of a “break.”  I also tend to not review a lot of the books I read for class, and this seems like a missed opportunity.
  4. Reach my Goodreads goal of 150 books.  It’s been a couple years since I made it to 150.  I’ve been hovering around 100, and I’d like to stretch myself this year.
  5. Increase blog traffic.  Pages Unbound just squeaked by with more views in 2015 than we got in 2014.  While blog traffic isn’t anything, I would like to be able to say we actually grew within a two year period!
  6. Meet newbie bloggers.  I’ve been looking for newbie bloggers to follow and, for some reason, have had a hard time following them.  I know ReadWriteLove28 will be featuring some this year, so I’m going to check them out!
  7. Guest post more.  I’ve signed up for one guest post already (coming all the way in December 2016!), but I’m interested in finding more opportunities and meeting new bloggers.
  8. Host an awesome Tolkien event.  This March will be our third annual Tolkien Reading Event, and I’m hoping to get some really thoughtful and fun posts.  Some great guest posters have already signed up, and I’ve finished reading Beowulf and am ready to write a review!
  9. Inspire everyone to read middle grade.  There are a lot of grade middle grade books and many of them aren’t particularly more “childish” than YA.  I think readers are missing out!
  10. Do Top Ten Tuesday more. Lately I’ve been letting Krysta do it all the time, but maybe I should pitch in once in a while.


20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (119): Book and Blog Resolutions

  1. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    I second your opinion on MG being wonderfully enjoying to read. YA and Adult are only books tailored for a more a mature audience but that doesn’t make MG immature or “childish” as you mentioned. I haven’t read MG books for some time now, but I really want to read The Blackthorn Key and reread Percy Jackson and the Olympians! As for growing your blog traffic, good luck! Though I recognize it’s not the most important thing, blog support just makes one really happy and motivated. But even if I had 1 follower and no views, I’d still blog. It’s one of the best hobbies I’ve taken on. But it seems like your blog has really grown (in terms of follower count and everything). So congrats for the growth between 2014 and 2015. ^.^ Happy new year, Briana and Krysta!

    (And thank you for visiting my blog, Briana!)

    Happy reading and blogging,
    Summer at Xingsings


    • Briana says:

      Ooh, I’ve been eyeing The Blackthorn Key, too! It looks awesome!

      I think our biggest blog growth was actually between 2011 and 2012; it’s been a slow trickle upwards since then!

      Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lianne @ says:

    I have a Pinterest account but I haven’t used it in so long…would be interesting to figure out how to use it with my blog xD

    Congrats on your blog growing these past two years! Looking forward to your Tolkien event in March🙂

    Best of luck with your resolutions, Briana!🙂 My TTT


  3. Anette @ Anette Reads says:

    I’m so impressed by anyone who can read over 100 (or even close to 100) books a year. I’m too lazy for that and I procrastinate too much.

    I might try to read more middle grade this year. I worked as the Christmas help in a bookstore in December and all the shiny middle grade books I’d never even heard of before tempted me a lot!

    My TTT.


    • Briana says:

      I think it depends a little bit on types of books read. I could probably read five YA books in the time it would take me to read, say, The Count of Monte Cristo, so numbers aren’t always everything.🙂

      There are some really great middle grade books! I hope you find some you like!


  4. Reno @ Falling Letters says:

    Those sound like some solid resolutions. I especially like #8 and #9. Unfortunately I’ll be travelling when you host the Tolkien event, but it sounds like it’s going to be a great event so hopefully I’ll be able to get online to at least keep up with the posts! Good luck with your resolutions.


  5. Lisa says:

    Good luck with the Tolkien event! Sounds like fun.Very interesting about Pinterest and pin-able blog graphics. Definitely food for thought! Happy New Year!


    • Briana says:

      I’m not sure the book blogging community is very big on Pinterest, so there’s may not be massive ways to improve my presence there, but I’m interested in doing what I can!


  6. Amy Lawrence says:

    Pinterest is still such a foreign thing for me! I use it mainly for myself but when people pin my things (repin? I have no idea!) I’m always so confused as to how they found me! Good luck reading 150 books!!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

