A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond


Goodreads: A Bear Called Paddington
Series: Paddington #1
Source: Purchased
Published: 1958


When Mr. and Mrs. Brown find a bear at the train station, they can’t help but take him home.  But when a bear has never been to London before, he’s bound to find himself in heaps of trouble.


Sitting lost and alone in a London train station, blissfully unaware of his predicament yet still a little unsure about his future, Paddington burned his forlorn little image onto my heart and captured it, just as he captured the hearts of the Brown family.  Though the book brims full with humorous stories, from Paddington overflowing the bathtub to him destroying a store front window, I found the real charm lies in the love between the bear and his family, and not in his endless propensity for mischief.

Many readers no doubt find the stories funny–or presumably Bond could not have published so many books.  Yet I admit that I found them a bit repetitive.  Wherever Paddington goes, he causes destruction and possibly ends up covered in marmalade and crumbs.  His clumsiness makes him endearing, but it also makes him predictable.

Heart mixes with humor, however, as the Browns always rescue Paddington and ask no questions.  He may make their lives difficult, but they’re not going to make him find another home just because of it.  Their tender love makes this story special–and it is that, and not Paddington’s adventures, that would entice me to read more of his stories.Krysta 64

2 thoughts on “A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond

  1. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    I had a Paddington VHS when I was a kid, and I have to say I adored it. He really was always getting covered in marmalade, but I didn’t care. I just wanted a Paddington all of my own (I still do!).

    I haven’t actually ever read the books, though! (Although the VHS was one of those animated books that were popular in the 90s, so I ~kind of~ have).

    Have you seen the recent Paddington movie?


    • Krysta says:

      I’ve not seen the movie yet. I wasn’t sure I wanted to based on the trailer, but I’ve heard it’s good and I enjoyed the book, so I might have to check it out from the library some time.

      The concept of the animated book has always baffled me a little, but my library has quite the collection now on DVD, so I guess someone’s watching them. Unless it’s just educators. They don’t seem to go out that much, now that I think about it.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

