Top Ten Tuesday (115): Books for Which I Am Grateful

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

TOP TEN Books I’m Grateful For

1. The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri: You know those books that change you, the ones that make you aware of a before-the-book you and the after-the-book you?  This was one of those, for me.

2. The Winter’s Tale by William Shakespeare: One of his best–and that’s saying something!

3. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien: Stories that celebrate sacrifice seem increasingly rare.

4. The Last Battle by C. S. Lewis: Heart-breaking.

5. The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien: A breathless adventure full of high tragedy and also great joy and great beauty.

6.  Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery: Montgomery makes life seem beautiful.

7. A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd: A book that celebrates kindness and diversity.

8. Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff: A beautiful book about being ordinary.

9. the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling: Talking about Harry Potter is an instant way to make new friends!

10. My Name Is Asher Lev by Chaim PotokA moving depiction of a struggle between art and faith.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (115): Books for Which I Am Grateful

  1. Jinan says:

    That is so true about the Harry Potter thing! The minute I hear someone making a Harry Potter reference/mentioning anything related to Harry Potter we instantly connect😀


    • Krysta says:

      People always tell me it’s weird that I love The Last Battle! I’m glad it’s your favorite, too! (It might be second favorite. I don’t know. I think I’m holding on to Voyage as my favorite just because it’s always been.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ayunda says:

    I’ve forgotten most of The Last Battle but I love the series overall! I feel like I really need to reread it sometime in the future though, it’s been forever since I’ve read them… My TTT.


  3. Lisa says:

    Lovely list! I’m thankful for LOTR and Harry Potter as well, and really do need to read Anne of Green Gables. By this point, that should probably be a resolution for 2016!


  4. JaneGS says:

    I love reading everyone’s lists of books they are grateful for and seeing where our worlds intersect. I just reread The Winter’s Tale, and I’m toying with the idea of trying to go to the Kenneth Branagh broadcast of his production with Judi Dench in London–it’ll be at a movie theatre near me on Nov 30!

    I’m a long time Anne fan–I love the world of her books so much.

    I also am a fan of My Name is Asher Lev–I’ve read it at least three times and would like to reread it again.

    Happy Thanksgiving!


    • Krysta says:

      I hadn’t realized The Winter’s Tale was coming to theatres! Unfortunately, I probably won’t be able to attend, but I hope you can!

      Yes, reading Montgomery always makes me feel like I’m at home.🙂

      I love finding fans of Potok!

      Happy Thanksgiving!


  5. Stephanie B (@Chasm_of_Books) says:

    Sadly, I only know a couple of names on this list but I agree wholeheartedly with Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter, and I couldn’t agree more with the sentiments you expressed with them. I feel exactly the same way! There’s a reason why we keep coming back to Tolkien’s work and themes they contain are definitely part of it. And Harry Potter. Nothing can make faster friends of two people. Truly nothing.


    • Krysta says:

      And now we have Fantastic Beasts to look forward to! I’m sure we’ll see even more people joining the fandom when it comes out, which is fantastic!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

