Commonplace Book Entries

Find Your Commonplace 1

In October, we posted an event asking other bloggers to join us in creating virtual commonplace books and recording their reading.  The end event post was supposed to go live yesterday, but unfortunately a few things came up and I’m a day late.  My apologies to everyone waiting to see the end results!  Below is the commonplace book page I created.  If you also created a page, please let us know in comments, so we can stop by!

Briana's Commonplace book

Explanation: There are a lot of different ways to create commonplace books. You can record quotes on a specific topic or theme, quotes that seem useful, or just any quotes that catch your attention. I chose the final method and simply recorded passages that I found interesting from all the things I’ve read in the past month. The left column has some quotes from the novels I read, while the right column includes passages from some of the reading I’ve been doing for coursework.

One thought on “Commonplace Book Entries

  1. arenda says:

    Hey Briana, I was planning to do a commonplace blog post, but I’m actually taking an extended blogging break. One of my favourite quotes from the last month, though, was this (I’ve been doing a bunch of reading on home education): “Therefore, children should be taught, as they become mature enough to understand such teaching, that the chief responsibility which rests on them as persons is the acceptance or rejection of ideas.” (From one of Charlotte Mason’s books on education, as quoted on AfterThoughts blog.)

    I love your quote about the exegesis of medieval poetry. It’s so true these days! I read a wonderful book by Roger Kimball (The Rape of the Masters: How Political Correctness Sabotages Art) on how this is so prevalent in present-day art criticism, too. It’s ludicrous what sorts of things can be imagined into beautiful paintings! How sad, really, that the same is true for beautiful poetry.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

