Dream a Little Dream by Kristin Gier

Dream a Little DreamInformation

Goodreads: Dream a Little Dream
Series: The Silver Trilogy
Source: Library
Published: April 14, 2015 (US)

Official Summary

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute….


Dream a Little Dream by Kristin Gier is a breath of fresh air, a book that’s entertaining, a little smart, and so unique it actually doesn’t sound like a single other YA book on the market. Gier skillfully combines demons, dreams, and ordinary contemporary high school to create a story that walks a tantalizing line between the real and the seemingly impossible.

Protagonist Olivia (Liv) Silver steals the book from the first pages. In Liv, Gier creates a popular girl who is in many ways refreshingly normal. Liv is multi-faceted, and Gier lets her speak for herself. There is no attempt to build Liv up as a stereotypical popular girl obsessed with her appearance and social connections but also no attempt to defend her from that stereotype, to rub readers’ noses into the fact that a popular girl might actually be both intelligent and kind. Liv just simply is all of these things–a reader of classics, a member of her school’s “It” group, a silly sister, a sometimes fashionista, and she makes all of work together without comment. This is how popular girls should be written.

Liv’s sister Mia, however, is a strong contender for my favorite character. She’s sassy, smart, and funny. She makes the sort of mean but clever underhanded comments all of us would be tempted to make if thrown into the difficult situations she is, and it’s easy to love her for it when she’s a book character instead of a real human being. Add in Mia’s real attachment to her family, her nanny, and her dog, and she’s incredibly likable.

I only wish the plot were as strong as the characterization. Though the pacing is generally good, there are times the book borders on being so slow in an attempt to be “suspenseful” that I wanted to give up on finding out what the big mystery was. Even worse, none of the plot seems to add up by the end of the novel. After finishing, I’m still uncertain which parts are real and which parts are entirely in characters’ minds. I just don’t know what was going on, and I’m really unclear on how this is supposed to be leading into a sequel.

Dream a Little Dream is a fun read, but I would have like to see a little more substance and world-building. I wouldn’t mind reading the sequel if it happened to fall into my hands, but I don’t think I’ll be seeking it out.

7 thoughts on “Dream a Little Dream by Kristin Gier

  1. eadlynpalo says:

    I really want to read this since March after reading Ruby Trilogy by Gier. ❤ Sadly, I don’t have a copy yet.


  2. Reg (She Latitude) says:

    The part where she’s in a graveyard at night with four guys kind of reminds me of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys! Too bad the plot didn’t quite keep up with the characterisation, though—it can be frustrating when a book tries to ‘outsmart’ its readers but then just ends up leaving everyone confused. How many stars would you give it, out of five?


    • Briana says:

      I haven’t read The Raven Boys, but I keep meaning to get around to it!

      I gave it three stars on Goodreads. I can see 3.5. That’s mainly based on the fact that, ultimately, I didn’t think the premise made a lot of sense and I’m lukewarm about wanting ton continue with the series after what I saw here.


      • Reg (She Latitude) says:

        Oh, do! I think it’s very… gripping. :p

        Yeah, completely understandable. I’ll be the same if sizeable chunks of the plot doesn’t make a lot of sense to be, which unfortunately seems to be the case with Dream a Little Dream…


  3. DoingDewey says:

    The characterization sounds wonderful, but I’m concerned by any plot that starts with the mention of more than one potential love interest! I’ve been disappointed by a lot of YA because of ignoring hints like that in the synopsis.


    • Briana says:

      Offhand I’m trying to remember how many of those four guys are viable love interests. One ends up being her stepbrother, so the summary is at least a little misleading! I’m pretty sure one contender comes out on top fairly quickly, so it didn’t really read like a love triangle to me.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

