Top Ten Tuesday (112): Wishes from the Book Genie

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Wishes I’d Ask the Book Genie to Grant Me

1. A newly discovered book from the Pearl Poet: We all know this would be the greatest.

2. New Nancy Drew books like the originals: The newer ones are so disappointing.

3. Another Nancy Drew PC game set in the 1930s: (I love what HerInteractive is doing, but I need Nancy in her blue roadster.)

4. Funds for all the libraries: More staff!  More resources!  More books!

5. A new Hobbit movie: There could be two, split when Bilbo finds his strength in Mirkwood.  But no more!

6. A trip to Lothlorien: I’ll take pictures for all of you.

7. The ability to meet Luthien: Trying not to fangirl in front of her might be difficult, though.

8. Books for all the schools: And diverse books.  So all children have access to books.

9. A chat with Dante’s wife:  Would it be rude to ask what she thinks of her husband’s obsession with Beatrice?

10. The ability to read in several languages: Dante in the original.  Dumas in the original.  Virgil in the original.  Beowulf in the original!

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (112): Wishes from the Book Genie

  1. Briana says:

    I want to work on my Anglo-Saxon. It seems more readable now that I’m more familiar with Middle English, but I have a long way to go! (And so little time!)


  2. j.belk says:

    I love the older Nancy Drew books! I have to say I haven’t read any of the newer ones, but I’ll have to give them a try one day.

    -Jess @jbelkbooks


  3. Lois says:

    Middle-Earth is my ultimate must visit fantasy world. It’s just so pretty. I mean you have Rivendell, Lothlorien, the Shire, Rohan and Gondor. Plus we’d get to have a chat with Treebeard and who wouldn’t want that.


  4. Kelly says:

    Luthien’s probably used to the fangirling- comes with the territory when you’re part deity. (You couldn’t be worse than Daeron, telling her dad about her mortal boyfriend and whatnot…)


  5. Lucy says:

    Great wishes!! I used to love all the Nancy Drew pc games!! I couldn’t wait to play a new one. I think I had around 20 or so before I stopped playing.

    We need to focus more money, time, and effort into our schools and libraries. How do people not realize how important reading is??? :(( Great choices!!


    • Krysta says:

      It looks like HerInteractive has been releasing some interesting titles lately, one dealing with Nancy’s mother!

      I don’t understand why we don’t invest more money in our libraries. It’s like we don’t understand how much they do to help level the playing field in terms of access to knowledge and education. By helping our children learn to read and giving our students access to knowledge, we are helping everybody.


  6. TheQuirkyBookNerd says:

    Oh my gosh, I’d love to see them make another Nancy Drew game set in the 1930s! That would be fantastic😀 And more Nancy Drew books like the old ones would be great too; the new ones don’t even come close. Great post!


    • Krysta says:

      Yeah, I never liked that in the newer ones Nancy’s always semi-involved with another guy while she’s still ostensibly with Ned. But I read they broke up now.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

