Top Ten Tuesday (110): If You Like The Paper Bag Princess

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books if You Like The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch

Looking for books with princesses who control their own destiny?  Look no further!  And if you like finding books like the ones you already love, check out our feature “If You Like…Then Read.”

1. The Princess in Black by Shannon and Dean Hale: Who said princesses can only wear pink?  Or that they can’t save the land from monsters before tea time is over?

2. The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson LevineWhen the Gray Death strikes her sister Meryl, timid Addie must venture forth alone to find the cure.

3. Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George: Left by themselves at home, Princess Celie and her siblings must save the nation from a foreign takeover.

4. The Wide-Awake Princess by E. D. Baker: Sleeping Beauty’s sister finds herself alone while the rest of the palace slumbers under a curse, so, of course there’s only one thing to do–set forth on a quest to break the spell.

5. Pericles by William Shakespeare: After fleeing from a plot against her life, the princess Marina finds herself sold for her flesh.  Can she find a way to stay true to her values?

6. The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien: Eoywn seems to be a fan favorite, but Tolkien wrote about a lot of other amazing women, including Luthien, who took on Sauron’s master Morgoth.

7. Princeless series: Tired of waiting for a man to rescue her, Princess Adrienne escapes from her tower and sets forth on a quest to free her sisters from their various prisons.

8. The Princess Knight by Cornelia Funke: When Violetta’s father offers her hand in marriage to the best knight, Violetta determines to win the competition herself.

9. The Ordinary Princess by M. M. Kaye:  A princess gifted with “ordinariness” runs away and becomes a kitchen maid.  But is anyone truly “ordinary”?

10. Till We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis:  A retelling of the “Cupid and Psyche” myth.

Bonus: The Horse and His Boy by C. S. Lewis: For Susan (actually a queen) and Aravis (also not a princess, but still nobility).

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (110): If You Like The Paper Bag Princess

    • Krysta says:

      Sometimes I feel awful when that happens. Sometimes it’s exciting, though, because I have so many more books for my TBR pile! (Which can then also be overwhelming.) Books cause mixed emotions.😉


    • Krysta says:

      The awkward thing is that I think I read this a long time ago, but I don’t actually remember if that’s true. So I think I have to find a copy and do a reread/read!


  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    *hangs head in shame* I have not heard of a lot of these books, but I hope to rectify that soon because they all sound very like charming/heartwarming reads. Fantastic list!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s