If You Like Inkheart, Then Read…

IYL Stars

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here.

Story Thieves by James Riley

Whenever possible, Owen escapes into one of his favorite books.  Learning that his classmate Bethany can actually jump into stories and experience them, then, is just about the greatest revelation ever.  Bethany warns him they cannot interfere with any plots, but Owen longs to change the course of his favorite series and become a literary hero. But Owen’s actions have unintended consequences and soon he finds himself starring in what could be his first and only adventure.

The Island of Dr. Libris by Chris Grabenstein

Billy is spending the summer with his mother at the lakeside cabin of one of her colleagues, Dr. Libris, but unfortunately, there’s nothing to do–except read.  As Billy turns the pages, however, he begins to realize that the stories are coming alive. Now Hercules, Pollyanna, Robin Hood, and an evil space lizard are all running around the local island.  Can Billy become a hero in his own story and return everything to normal before someone gets hurt?

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

While reading a book about a magical land called Fantastica, Bastian discovers that he has entered the story–and that only he can save the world from destruction.  Bastian must give the Childlike Empress a new name before Fantastica disappears, but his own failings may make him lose his way.

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

When an unknown criminal begins stealing characters from great works of literature, special operative Thursday Next will have to enter the pages of Jane Eyre to save a classic novel.

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s