Top Ten Tuesday (108): Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From

I always find these lists a bit odd, since saying I’ve read a bunch of books by Carloyn Keene versus J. K. Rowling, say, only means that Keene happened to have written more books (which is easier, I imagine, when you have a bunch of ghostwriters).  But, here you go–my most-read authors, according to Goodreads.

1Carolyn Keene: I loved Nancy Drew when I was growing up.

2. L. M. Montgomery: She could never write enough books for me.

3. C. S. Lewis: Luckily I still have some books of his I haven’t read yet.

4. William Shakespeare: For some reason I wasn’t expecting him on this list, though I have read plenty of his works.

5. Tamora Pierce: I haven’t read her books in years, so she was really a surprise.

6. J. R. R. Tolkien: So glad Christopher Tolkien keeps giving us more of his father’s works!

7. Shannon Hale: I can still look forward to new works from her!

8. C. S. Forester: Apparently my reading the Hornblower series helped Forester make this list.

9. Emmuska Orczy: She’s probably on here mostly because of the Scarlet Pimpernel, but I have read some of her other books.

10. Dr. Seuss: Well, this seems random!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (108): Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From

  1. saraletourneau says:

    I saw this TTT on another blog, so I was curious about my own list of most-read authors. This is what I found after I looked through my Goodreads “read” shelf:

    Nicholas Sparks (From my teenage / early college years, and I haven’t read his books in eons…)
    Ursula K. Le Guin
    J.K. Rowling
    C.S. Lewis (one choice in common!)
    Scott O’Dell (also from my teenage years)
    J.R.R. Tolkien (two choices in common! *smiles)
    George R.R. Martin
    Maria V. Snyder
    Paulo Coelho
    Allan G. Hunter


      • saraletourneau says:

        *lol* Dr. Hunter isn’t a big-name author, so no, don’t be embarrassed.😉 He writes books on the craft of writing as well as spirituality / self-help books. He’s also a former writing professor of mine… So I guess my stats might be a little biased!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

