Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George (ARC Review)

silver in the bloodInformation

Goodreads: Silver in the Blood
Series: None
Source: Netgalley
Publication Date: July 7, 2015

Official Summary

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.


Jessica Day George’s Silver in the Blood indisputably proves that there is something left to be said for books about werewolves and vampires.  Taking a historical bent, the story follows young New York ladies Darcia and Lou as they visit their family’s home in Romania for the first time–and stumble upon a wealth of danger and secrets.

Admittedly, the suspense as to what exactly these secrets are is drawn out so long that it comes close to being boring; readers may find they just resign themselves to the fact they don’t know and may, at the rate the book is progressing, never know, instead of staying on the edge of their seats. Once the secrets are revealed, however, the pace picks up and the drama increases; the second half of the book will definitely keep readers hooked.

Until then, readers are treated with some great character studies of protagonists Darcia and Lou.  The two girls are inseparable, and this literary friendship is sure to please.  Their thoughts and actions are revealed to readers alternately through epistolary and narrative sections.  The form is nice homage to Dracula and to a time period where epistolary novels were more in vague, yet the mix of styles also means the novel is able to feel modern.

Jessica Day George is one of my favorite fairy tale retelling authors.  Her foray into folklore, vampires, and werewolves shows she has great range in writing, and that she can write young adult that is just a touch dark.  A great choice for fans of Shannon Hale, Julie Kagawa, or Cameron Dokey.


2 thoughts on “Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George (ARC Review)

  1. Ana says:

    Can you believe that I haven’t read a book with vampires and werewolves? Haha! But I do love literary friendships, so I’ll keep my eyes out for this one! ♥


    • Briana says:

      I’m not sure I’ve actually read a book with both (besides Twilight). I’m just surprised Jessica Day George is doing this at all. While it is sort of a version of Dracula, and Dracula is always in, the vampire/werewolf fad was five or six years ago!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s