Top Ten Tuesday (103): Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as Movies/TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as Movies/TV Shows

1. The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry: I want to see this beautiful sisterhood declare their independence and solve a murder mystery in a televised mini series.  Period dramas are popular–it could happen!

2. The Grimmtastic Girls series by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams: This series featuring fairy tale characters in boarding school would make a cute and fun animated series!

3. The Ashtown Burials series by N. D. Wilson: A brother and sister join an ancient order of explorers to defeat an ancient evil.  Characters like Gilgamesh and Arachne are walking around in modern-day New York.  How would this not make an awesome film franchise?

4. The Narnia series by C. S. Lewis: I want to see movies of these that actually capture the spirit and the magic of the books.

5. Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene: How great would it be if Nancy had a series in the vein of Agent Carter?  A girl sleuth in the 1930s would make a great period series!

6. Pat of Silver Bush and Mistress Pat by L. M. Montgomery: It could be a mini series!

7. An Old-Fashioned Girl by Louisa May Alcott: Why do people keep remaking Little Women when Alcott has other works?

8. The Cherry Ames series by Helen Wells: Call the Midwife is popular.  Why not have a show about a young woman studying to be a nurse in the 1940s?

9. The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Williams: Williams’s name would make it instantly popular, so why hasn’t it happened?

10. Hospital Sketches by Louisa May Alcott: Really, I just want a drama about Civil War nurses.  It doesn’t even have to be based on this book.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (103): Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as Movies/TV Shows

  1. eloisej says:

    Awesome choices! I wish I had thought of some of these! The Ashtown burial series would be pretty cool on screen I agree. And a good version ABSOLUTELY has to be made of the Chronicles of Narnia. You’re right, none of them have quite captured the spirit of the books. And yay for An Old Fashioned Girl. They do need to stop remaking Little Women and move on to her others works that are amazing as well.
    While I haven’t yet watched Agent Carter (someday!) I do like this idea you have of a Nancy Drew series in that vein. That would be pretty cool!


    • Krysta says:

      I guess Nancy Drew wouldn’t be as high stakes as Agent Carter, but, still, you have a feminist icon making her way in a man’s world while being generally awesome at her job. It would be awesome. Not like that movie they made.


  2. revgeorge says:

    “4. The Narnia series by C. S. Lewis: I want to see movies of these that actually capture the spirit and the magic of the books.”

    A thousand times yes!!


    • Krysta says:

      It would be nice to see all the books made into films, too. The Horse and His Boy could make a wonderful film if done right! The Last Battle might be tricky, though. I’d be afraid the makers might get carried away with the CGI.


  3. Lisa says:

    Great choices! I love your thoughts on Louisa May Alcott — how about even Little Men and Jo’s Boys? And definitely yes to more (and better) Narnia — I’d love to see that.


    • Krysta says:

      There are actually two versions of Little Men, one made in 1940 and one made in 1998. I think I saw the 1998 version but I can’t remember what I thought of it. But Little Women has seen enough remakes that I’m sure we could redo Little Men! And I don’t know that there has ever been a film of Jo’s Boys.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

