Armchair BEA 2015: Introduction Questions

BEA Intro
Armchair BEA is an event created to allow bloggers who are unable to attend BEA in person participate in BEA from home. Check out the website for more information!

1.) Tell us a bit about yourself: How long have you been blogging? Where are you from? How did you get into blogging?

I have been blogging for four years this May!  My co-blogger Krysta and I used to write book reviews for ourselves but decided it would be fun to share our thoughts and discuss with others!  So far blogging has been an exciting adventure!

2.)  What does diversity to mean to you?

Diversity means accepting and representing all types of worldviews and life experiences.  It means recognizing that people come from all types of backgrounds and walks of life, but everyone’s experience has value.

3.) Share your favorite blog post on your blog.

It’s hard to pick just one!  Most recently, I’ve enjoyed discussion Five Things YA Books Get Wrong and creating a Charlotte Bronte Heroine Personality Quiz.

4.) What is your favorite genre and why?

Fantasy!  I love exploring new worlds, and I love feeling that magic could exist in our world.  I also enjoy how much can be at stake in fantasy stories.  Very few characters get to save a kingdom in contemporary novels!

5.) If you were stranded on a deserted island, what author would you want to bring with you?  Why?

If I can’t bring someone who has written about how to survive on a deserted island (I certainly don’t know how!), I’d like to bring J.R.R. Tolkien.  He’s my favorite author and a great storyteller, but from all biographical accounts he was also pretty personable.  He also was a professor at Oxford and knew over twenty languages, so I think I could learn a lot from him while we were stuck!

6 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2015: Introduction Questions

    • Briana says:

      Thanks! Sometimes I hear statements like, “Well, diversity wouldn’t include ___” and I think those statements are really missing the point.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

