Top Ten Tuesday (102): Books I Will Probably Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

1. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: Controversies about the merits of the writingg, the sketchy ways Edward expresses interest, and the inability of Bella to exist without her boyfriend aside, I’m not generally interested in paranormal romances.

2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare: Another paranormal romance and thus not of much interest to me.

3. The Selection by Kiera Cass: Briana’s review convinced me I wouldn’t enjoy this one.

4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: I don’t read much contemporary YA.

5. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin: I like the TV series, but I’ve heard the book drags out events.  I figure I can get all the action and intrigue much faster by sticking to the show.

6. If I Stay by Gayle Forman: The plot never sounded interesting to me.

7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: Contemporary YA that sounds mainly like a romance–I think I’ll pass, even though Briana really likes this one.

8. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell: I tried once.  But it was taking a long time so I skipped to the end.  And then I realized I didn’t need to read hundreds of pages to get to that sort of ending.  I’ve seen the movie, though, so I’m good, right?

9. Moby Dick by Herman Melville: I understand it’s hundreds of pages about looking for a whale….

10. any sequels to a Jane Austen novel: I read Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James.  It just didn’t have the same magic.

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (102): Books I Will Probably Never Read

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hiya Krysta, surprisingly enough many people have said they’d skip Twilight. I think I’m the only person that actually liked the books as well as the movies. The Game of Thrones never really interested me because of all of the action and gore and stuff but maybe just maybe I’ll try it one day. 🙂

    Like

  2. Keionda Hearts Books says:

    It seems like no one would like to read Twilight.I think I’m the only person to actually like both the movies and the books.:(
    And the Game of Thrones never really interested me because of all of the action and gore and stuff but maybe just maybe I’ll try it one day. 🙂

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      I’m pretty sure I know some people who like either the book or the movie, but they’re ashamed to admit it at this point, which is sad. Paranormal romance isn’t my genre, but I would never want someone else to feel they aren’t “allowed” to read it!

      I’m actually wondering if I even want to continue with the GoT TV series because the violence and other content is really getting to be too much. I fast forward through it, but I don’t like that they creators make it so gratuitous.

      Like

  3. readingbifrost says:

    Oh, wow. Yay! More people than I thought agree with me on The Fault in Our Stars than I thought. I did read the first three Mortal Instruments books by Cassandra Clara, but then they just kind of started dragging them out and I gave up on it. I started A Game of Thrones but the writing was horrible! I couldn’t get past the first couple of chapters. He just used such simple sentences it aggravated me!

    My TTT

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      Yeah, I thought everyone else had already read The Fault in Our Stars!

      No one’s mentioned the simple sentence structure to me before, only that fact that hundreds of pages go by and seemingly nothing happens. Hearing this makes me feel better about not picking up the series so far.

      Like

  4. rudejasper says:

    Moby Dick made my list as well:). I couldn’t get through Death Comes To Pemberley but have enjoyed other Jane Austen “fan fiction” so I wouldn’t give up on it entirely. Well unless you are a purist – none of it obviously compares to the original. My favorite Austen related fiction is probably a series of mysteries featuring Jane A. as the sleuth by Stephanie Barron.

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      I wouldn’t say I’m a Jane Austen purist, but I am disappointed when someone writes a sequel to another author’s work and the characters just don’t seem the same. It can be a little nerve-wracking picking up a book and hoping for the best! But Austen as a sleuth sounds pretty intriguing. I hadn’t heard of that series before. I just might have to check it out.

      Like

  5. Maggie says:

    Twilight sucks! Don’t worry about missing out on anything! I’m embarrassed to say I even read the first two books…then threw them in the garbage! LOL! Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      A lot of my friends said pretty much the same thing and the books are pretty large, so I thought I would take their word for it rather than slog through hundreds of pages. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. ChrissiReads says:

    We have two books in common this week… Moby Dick and Game of Thrones. I don’t see myself reading any of those books. They just don’t interest me! I don’t think I’ll ever read City of Bones either.

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      Poor Moby Dick. I feel like it’s the classic that gets the most refusals to read it. When people talk about you as a book full of whale facts, I guess those of us not particularly interested in whales are scared away!

      Like

  7. Tracey says:

    I agree with all of those except for The Fault In Our Stars. Forget what you know about it, forget that it’s YA. I loved it because I enjoyed following the sub plot where the girl and guy track down an author and ask him what happened to the characters at the end of the book he wrote. Their experience with him alone is worth reading the book, so please re-consider.

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      I actually don’t know anything about Fault in Our Stars other than that it’s about a girl and a guy with cancer falling in love. And it’s being YA doesn’t bother me–I love YA books (just usually read the fantasy ones). Contemporary just isn’t my genre and I’m not big on romances, either. I have so many other books I want to read I just can’t see myself bumping up this one on my reading list. But thanks for sharing what your thoughts! 🙂

      Like

    • Krysta says:

      Except with television, violence and other content can seem more intense because it’s visual, whereas if it’s in a book I can choose not to imagine all the gore in detail….

      Like

  8. Beth Whatley says:

    I actually really like Cassandra Clare. I’ve been reading her since I was thirteen, so it’s kind of what I’ve grown up with. She’s my guilt read! I will, however, agree on The Selection. It’s not a terrible book, but you are not missing out on much by not reading it!
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

    Like

  9. bookgeeking says:

    I like the selection but since the next two books in the series are not great then I say stay away from it. It’s not worth getting into a series to be, not only let down but angry at a book.

    Like

      • bookgeeking says:

        No you cannot it, it is sometimes refreshing to read a stand alone book, some first in the series finish well enough that you don’t feel like you need to read the rest of the series, which I am not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing

        Like

    • Krysta says:

      I’ve started to notice a sort of backlash against his work. That sort of thing seems to happen once anyone reaches a certain level of popularity.

      Like

  10. Lisa says:

    LOL, I think I’ve read everything on your list except Moby Dick and The Selection! I gave up on the City of Bones series after three books — it seemed done at that point, and I didn’t see a point in continuing, but I enjoyed it up to then. I love seeing everyone’s lists — we all clearly have our own tastes when it comes to books!

    Like

  11. Faye M. says:

    Hah! I would never ever read Twilight as well. I mean, I first got wind of it when I was a junior in High School but I only lasted 50 pages before calling it quits. The Selection is something I’d never touch, too, although it’s mainly because I really don’t want to support the author for what she did to a blogger in the past.

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  12. arenda says:

    Good on you for avoiding Twilight! What a literary low-point. Ditto with Jane Austen sequels . . . though for some strange reason I keep trying them out (“Jane Fairfax” and a new version of “Northanger Abbey” were both disappointing, while “First Impressions” was absolutely horrible).

    But “Gone with the Wind”?! It’s soooo good! Yes, a little long and a devastating ending, but the excellent dialogue! Rhett Butler! and the tense will-she-redeem-herself question! I for one found the movie a flimsy, disappointing work when compared to the complexity of the novel and would argue just watching the film is insufficient! 🙂

    Like

    • Krysta says:

      There are so many Jane Austen sequels that one of them must be good, but I’m not sure I want to read them all just to find out!

      Oh no! I was consoling myself with the fact that I’ve seen the movie! Still, it’s a rare film that is as good as the book. I may have to rethink my decision. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

