Top Ten Tuesday (100): Books from My Childhood I’d Love to Revisit

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books from My Childhood I’d Love to Revisit.

Of course, I revisit many of these from time to time–they are some of my favorite stories!–but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to revisit them even more.

1. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott: I know some readers find it preachy, but I was willing to overlook that as a child and, my interest in the sisters is so strong, that I can overlook it even now.

2. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery: I reread this probably three months ago and I already miss Anne.

3. Emily of New Moon by L. M. Montgomery: I haven’t reread Emily for awhile, I’m afraid to say.

4. Jack and Jill by Louisa May Alcott: I was always fond of this one because it’s overlooked in Alcott’s oeuvre, but apparently that disinterest led to my library’s decision to get rid of it.

5. Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink: I remember really liking this book, though I don’t recall any plot details.

6. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C. S. Lewis: My favorite Narnia book.

7. The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood by Howard Pyle: The ending always makes me cry, though.

8. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy: I’ve been trying to go through the sequels, but it’s been some time since I’ve read the original adventure.

9. The Scottish Chiefs by Jane Porter: Classic romance featuring a very fictionalized account of the life of William Wallace.

10. The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch: My favorite feminist fairy tale.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (100): Books from My Childhood I’d Love to Revisit

    • Krysta says:

      I guess the really overt part might be where the sisters play at Pilgrim’s Progress, but that was popular in the day and I’d probably be reenacting it with my friends, too!


  1. Cait says:

    I have Caddie Woodlawn on my list too!! IT WAS SO INCREDIBLE. I remember it being really unfair because she’d get in trouble for being too rough and she was supposed to be a “soft quiet calm girl” or something. It was so infuriating. heh. Still an incredible book.
    Here’s my TTT!


    • Krysta says:

      Yes, I am always upset when a “tomboy” character is told she can’t behave that way. Liking to be active and to go outside isn’t unfeminine! Girls like nature, too! And Caddie lives on the frontier. It’s not being knowledgeable about the woods surrounding her will ever be a bad thing.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

