Top Ten Tuesday (99): My Spring TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books on My Spring TBR List

1. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani: Still not tired of books featuring fairy tale characters in school.

2. Nada by Carmen Laforet: I’ve started this a few times but one day will finish!

3. Hospital Sketches by Louisa May Alcott: I grew up an avid fan of Alcott, so of course need to read the book based on her experiences as a Civil War nurse.

4. The History of The Hobbit, Part One: Mr. Baggins by John D. Rateliff: Rateliff maps the development of J. R. R. Tolkien’s classic book, including original drafts and previously unpublished maps.  Cool stuff.

5. Valiant by Sarah McGuire: This retelling of “The Brave Little Tailor” will be released in April and I’m excited!

6. The Boy Who Lost Fairyland by Catherynne M. Valente: I can’t get enough of Fairyland!

7. Stolen Magic by Gail Carson Levine: A Tale of Two Castles was a disappointment, but it’s a Gail Carson Levine book so I’ll read it anyway.

8. The Thickety: The Whispering Trees by J. A White: The Path Widens was a beautiful work and I can’t wait to read the sequel.

9. Rook by Sharon Cameron: The Scarlet Pimpernel is a favorite of mine and I want to see how this apparent retelling plays out.

10. Otter in Space by Sam Garton: I can’t express enough how much I love Otter and how much I want everyone else to love Otter, too.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (99): My Spring TBR List

  1. Reno says:

    Ahhh, The History of the Hobbit is a fantastic read!! Lots to look forward to there. I should give really give it another go. I’m also excited for the next Fairyland book. My sister is going to bring it for me when she visits at the end of April🙂


    • Krysta says:

      I’ve started The History of the Hobbit and it’s been very scholarly so far, but I think it will be interesting all the same!

      I need someone to bring me the fourth Fairyland book! 😉


      • Reno says:

        Yes, it took me a long to get through it because of the ‘scholariness’ (sometimes I felt Rateliff branched off a bit too much into tangential or hypothetical topics) but I found it has lots of gems of information. Enjoy!🙂


  2. Lisa says:

    Aah, I need The Rook! I just finished The Scarlet Pimpernel with a book group, and The Rook sounds like such fun. I never heard of the Louisa May Alcott book — is it something that was discovered/reissued recently? I’ve made myself a vow that I’ll finally start the Fairyland books this year. Looks like you have a great spring full of reading coming up!


    • Krysta says:

      I’m not aware that Hospital Sketches has been reissued recently. I think it’s just one of those classics that is just generally available from different publishers.

      The Fairyland novels are so whimsical! I hope you like them!


  3. Katie says:

    Such a great list. School of Good and Evil series is my favorite ever!! (up there with HP). Its so clever and twisty. Third isn’t out yet though, argh. I like the sound of the hobbit book too.


    • Krysta says:

      When the second book of a series comes out and I still haven’t read the first, I always start to feel a little nervous for some reason! The third one better not come out until I read the first!


  4. arenda says:

    Hospital Sketches sounds fascinating (I didn’t realize LM Alcott worked as a nurse in the civil war), and Valiant sounds interesting, too – although the tailor, with all his bragging, doesn’t strike me as much of a hero – I wonder how the author will go about making him a compelling protagonist!


    • Krysta says:

      Well, Alcott signed up for three months as a nurse, but I think she made it through maybe six weeks before falling ill and returning home. But it was enough to get a book from!

      Valiant actually features the daughter of a tailor as the protagonist. From the summary, I gather that she goes to court disguised as a boy and has to fight off giants or something. The shift to the daughter makes me think she won’t really be boasting, unless she boasts a little because she thinks that’s her only way into court. But if she boasts her way into facing giants, I guess that will cool her ardor for making big promises in the future!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

