If You Like Animal Stories, Then Read….

Animal Stories

The White Bone by Barbara Gowdy

An unique story about the young elephant Mud who must lead her people to the “Safe Place” by finding the legendary “White Bone.”  Gowdy brings readers inside the world and minds of her elephant protagonists, giving them voices like never before. Read Briana’s review.

Animal Farm by George Orwell

We know; it’s allegorical and not technically about animals on a farm (unless you’re taking this class).  However, Orwell does clearly put a lot of thought into characterizing each species and personifying each individual.  If you aren’t a fan of Boxer by the end, you have no heart.

The Sight by David Clement-Davies

As Palla, the alpha female in a pack of wolves, seeks shelter to give birth, she is pursued by her half-sister Morgra, who desires to claim her new niece Larka.  For Morgra and Larka both possess a mysterious ability called the Sight and, with their powers combined, Morgra can claim dominion over all the world.

Audrey (Cow) by Dan Bar-el

Audrey is a cow of poetical nature, dreaming of the day she will travel to France, the land of her ancestors, to eat  clover in new fields.  Then she learns that her actual destiny is the supermarket.  Determined not to become hamburger, Audrey makes a daring escape with the help of her farmyard friends–but can a cow actually survive by herself in the wild? Read Krysta’s review.

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

Wilbur the pig wants to live a long, happy life–not be turned into bacon.  To save her new friend’s life, Charlotte the spider concocts a daring plan to convince the humans that Wilbur is no ordinary pig.  But can a mere arachnid change the course of fate?

I Am Otter by Sam Garton

Ok, there are a lot of picture books about animals we could choose to include, some more realistic than others.  I Am Otter gets bonus points for featuring an animal we haven’t seen much of in fiction before, as well as for being amazingly cute and creative. Plus, there’s still a nod to the classic picture book teddy bear. Read Krysta’s review.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s