Top Ten Tuesday (89): Characters I Would Totally Want to Be for Halloween

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Characters I Would Totally Want to Be for Halloween

The topic doesn’t specify, so I am assuming characters from any type of media are fair game, not just ones from books.  I also want to highlight characters I think would be fun to dress as, not just characters I like, so anyone who looks too “realistic contemporary” might have to be passed over.


  1. Elsa from Frozen: Fairly easy to do if one already happens to own a sparkly blue semiformal dress and has braidably long hair.
  2. Eowyn from The Lord of the Rings: One of my favorite literature characters, and she has some beautiful dresses in the movies.
  3. The TARDIS from Doctor Who: Technically, yes, she is a character. However, I would like to go as a creative interpretation of the TARDIS (example), not the TARDIS’s human incarnation.
  4. Galadriel from The Lord of the Rings: I would love to be as graceful as an Elf, and I love her outfits and jewelry from the movies.
  5. Merida from Brave: A strong female protagonist who also has a great wardrobe.
  6. A Hogwarts student: I’ve dressed as a Durmstrang student in the past.  After college graduation, however, I finally have a long black robe I can utilize!  I can just vary the colors of the outfit and go as anyone from Hermione to Luna!
  7. Guinevere: Ok, or any medieval-literature noble female character.  I just want an awesome dress.
  8. Rapunzel: Did I mention I can rock a braid, and that I want a princess dress?
  9. Lucy Pevensie from The Chronicles of Narnia: One of my favorite book characters, and you could build a costume for her in so many ways: winter coat, queen dress, saving the kingdom gear, etc.
  10. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games: She doesn’t speak to me quite so much as some other characters, but, again, I love the options one would have creating a costume for her. You could wear anything from an arena uniform, to her signature archery outfit, to one of the dresses Cinna designs for her.
  11. Bonus! Wonder Woman: Although I’d probably go for an interpretation where I get to wear more clothing than the classic costume allows.  Even looking beyond the practicality of fighting in her costume, or whether it’s objectifying, October where I live is not warm.  I need more clothes!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (89): Characters I Would Totally Want to Be for Halloween

  1. Kate @ Fictional Thoughts says:

    I love that you have a bonus on the list! I can’t believe you’ve dressed as a Durmstrang student before. So very cool. My niece is dresses up as Elsa – she’s two and got an Elsa costume a few weeks ago.
    I also think I’d be fantastic to dress up as the Tardis. I’ve seen people dress up as it at fan conventions and they look amazing.


    • Briana says:

      I actually happened to have a brown robe and not a black one so…Durmstrang student it was!

      I am definitely jealous of all the people who have made creative TARDIS costumes. I wish I could sew!


  2. Becca @ Lost in thought says:

    There’s a great wonder woman costume with a jacket and trousers – much warmer! The Tardis would be an awesome costume – seen quite a few at comic con recently! Great choices🙂

    Becca @ Lost in Thought
    My TTT!


    • Briana says:

      That sounds like what I was thinking of! I should look into it!

      I always love seeing how people make TARDIS costumes. Online at least. I haven’t actually been to any conventions.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

