The Best Things about My Local Library: Part Two (Because One Post Couldn’t Cover It All!)

Library Graphic

Books have the power to change lives, so imagine the potential a library has to transform a community. Besides providing access to books, movies, music, video games, and toys, libraries also offer programs ranging from book clubs to computer literacy to concerts. At Pages Unbound, we love libraries and the work they do, so we asked several bloggers to share what they love about their libraries. Come back all July to help us celebrate libraries!

Briana already covered many of the wonderful resources and services libraries have to offer, but, of course, there’s more!  Below find listed some of my favorite library offerings.


Libraries these days seem to offer just about everything, but the possibilities expand once you add the Internet.  With my library’s online resources, I can rent a book in my pajamas, learn a new language without worrying about having to return an audio disc in three weeks (really, when is the last time anyone learned a language in three weeks?), and access tons of cool research sites that specialize in various disciplines.  One of my biggest recommendations to others, though, are the test preparation programs.  Now students can study for various tests without having to worry about shelling out tons of money for a course or even $20 for a book (though libraries, of course, often carry those, as well).  Plus the Internet means the practice tests will be timed and scored for you!  Some resources even offer preparation for career tests.

Parent and Teacher Resources

I don’t have a child, but I have been in positions where I’ve had to teach younger children various skills from reading to math.  It sounds simple enough in theory–I can read and add, after all!  But knowing how to do a thing is different from knowing how to teach it.  Libraries often have special materials marked for parents or teachers that will help patrons learn how to teach literacy, math, grammar, and more.  Issue books about making friends, dealing with peer pressure, staying healthy, and more can also often be of use, while craft and game books can inspire a night of family fun.

Story Times and Play Times

The library is a great place for children to get together and learn while having fun.  Story times focus on helping children learn to love reading, but they can also show parents how to read with their little ones at home.  Play times, meanwhile, are a fantastic way for children to get hands-on with learning, whether that means creating a beautiful work of art, attending a science camp, or discovering the possibilities of blocks and architecture.


Sadly, not everyone has access to a local library, but despite budget cuts, libraries still make an effort to reach under-served populations, whether that means running a bookmobile or going to schools.  Librarians know what they do matters, and they’re willing to go the extra mile to make a difference in the community.

The Librarians

Librarians are there to help, whether that means tracking down a  DVD, recommending books, or directing patrons to resources they didn’t know existed.  Handling so many requests while still maintaining a clean and ordered library can’t be easy, but they manage to do it with a smile, while never turning anyone away.

9 thoughts on “The Best Things about My Local Library: Part Two (Because One Post Couldn’t Cover It All!)

    • Krysta says:

      I’ve never used one, either, but I love seeing them parked around town! Somehow it brightens my day to know that a truck full of books is cruising around. 😀


  1. travelingwitht says:

    I wish I could brag about my local library- but my librarian is a pain. When you request books to be borrowed from the inter-library loan system- MONTHS go by before she actually requests them. She hollered at me one day when I asked about Ready Player One- and I told her no need to holler and she was all “What is this gibberish you are talking about? We don’t have players in here.” I just shook my head and was all IT’S A BOOK. A BOOK, for crying out loud. So annoying.


    • Krysta says:

      I admit my library experiences haven’t been all sunshine and rainbows. Especially when I was younger, librarians seemed reluctant to help me. When I wanted a book I couldn’t get myself, I would ask my mom to request it because the librarians would help her, but not me. However, now that I’m older, all the librarians do help me (even if it’s not quite always with a smile!).

      And I hear you about the ILLs. In the past, sometimes four months would go by before mine would show up. Then I wouldn’t be in town to pick them up, but you only have so many business days to get them before they’re shipped back. It was a mess. I think the department has undergone changes, though, because lately my Ills have arrived pretty promptly.

      Perhaps libraries should have some customer service training? In retail jobs, you really can’t tell a customer that you don’t want to help them and you’re expected to do so, if not cheerfully, at least non-resentfully. Maybe a workshop could help some libraries put a friendlier face on their services. A more welcoming environment will attract more patrons, right?


      • travelingwitht says:

        OMG YES! My librarian needs a workshop in the worst way. It’s like sometimes I want to tell her “You know- if you would work to be more friendly, more people might come!”


  2. Ana @ Read Me Away says:

    I love my library’s eResources!😀 I loooooove browsing their eBook and audiobook database. It also feels “cleaner” because some books in the library might be in not-so-good condition, haha! I can also borrow books any time of the day. My local library isn’t open at 10PM, but what if I neeeeed to borrow the next book? eBook database to the rescue!😀


    • Briana says:

      I didn’t even think about that! There are some questionably dirty books at the library, though I’m sure the librarians do their best to weed them out!


      • Krysta says:

        Libraries do check their books for damage and I know that they try to clean off anything they catch, but I’m guessing it’s not financially possible to replace everything that looks kind of icky. I know I’ve checked out some rather questionable older books.

        I do love the constantly availability of e-books, though!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

