Top Ten Tuesday (86): Favorite Classic Books


Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Favorite Classic Books

To help me choose only ten, I have opted not to include drama (good-bye, Shakespeare), but could not resist adding poetic works.

1. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

2. The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri

3. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

4. Beowulf by Anonymous

5. Villette by Charlotte Bronte

6. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

7. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by the Pearl Poet

8. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C. S. Lewis

9. A Separate Peace by John Knowles

10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (86): Favorite Classic Books

  1. revgeorge says:

    The Lord of the Rings definitely and The Hobbit, as well as Pride & Prejudice. I’d add Persuasion to that as well. Dracula is one of my favorite classic works. As for Narnia, I’d have to take the whole set, although The Horse and His Boy is one of my favorites. 101 Dalmatians by Dodie Smith is one of my favorites. Bulfinch’s Mythology was a big one when I was growing up.


    • Krysta says:

      It was hard to choose only ten, so I tried to limit myself to one book per author (hence only P&P, for example). I also wondered if counting all seven Narnia books as one entry would be permissible, so I cold-heartedly cut out six and just listed my favorite. This list was hard! 😉

      I have to say, though, that I’ve never read 101 Dalmatians. I didn’t particularly enjoy the Disney film when I was growing up (it was okay, but not something I’d want to watch ten times), so I’d never even considered reading the book!


  2. Lindsey says:

    It’s so nice to see someone else who loves Beowulf!

    I just found my Anne of Green Gables series that I had boxed up. It will be fun to pass down to my daughter when she is older.🙂


    • Krysta says:

      I’ve just started reading Tolkien’s Beowulf and I’m loving it!

      That’s fantastic! I don’t own all the Anne books, sadly, but I have to say I’m really liking the new covers Sourcebooks put out.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

